Latest SSC jobs   »   Union Territories in India   »   Union Territories in India

Union Territories in India : Check Latest List Of Union Territories

We all know that India is a sovereign, socialist, secular and democratic republic country with a Parliamentary system of Government. In India, there are 28 states and 8 Union territories. According to the provisions of the constitution, during independence, the union territories were either not a part of India or they were too small to be made into a state. States Reorganisation Commission in 1956 recommended the formation of a different category for these territories & named it as Union Territory. The “Union Territory” status is assigned to an Indian subdivision to protect the rights of indigenous cultures, averting political turmoil related to matters of governance, newly inducted into India from a foreign colony and so on.

Union Territories of India

Currently there are 8 Union territories in India. The list the Union Territories of India is given below:

Union territories Capital Founded on
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 Nov. 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 Nov. 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman 26 Jan. 2020
Delhi New Delhi 9 May. 1905
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 Nov. 1956
Puducherry Pondicherry 1 Nov. 1954
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
Ladakh Leh 31 Oct 2019
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Largest State in India – Check complete States list based on Area and population

Andaman and Nicobar Islands are located between 6° and 14° North Latitude and 92° and 94° East Longitude. The islands located in the north are known as Andaman Group of islands while islands located in the south are called Nicobar Group of Islands. The climate of the islands can be defined as a humid, tropical coastal climate. Andaman and Nicobar Islands receive rainfall from the southwest and north east monsoons and maximum precipitation is between May & December.

Particulars Description
Area 8,249 sq. km
Population 4 lakh (approx)
Capital Port Blair
Languages Hindi, Nicobarese, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
Particulars Description
Area 491 sq km
Population 4 Lakhs (Approx)
Capital Silvassa
Languages Gujarati, Hindi

Recently the Daman and Diu have been merged into Dadar and Nagar Haweli to form a single Union Territory by the govt of India. From 1954 till 1961, the territory functioned almost & was known as ” Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli Administration “. Later, the territory was merged with the Indian Union on 11 August 1961, since then, is being administered by the Government of India as a Union Territory.

Largest State in India – Check complete States list based on Area and population

  • Lakshadweep
Particulars Description
Area 32 sq. km
Population 64,429 ( Approx )
Capital Kavaratti
Principal Languages Malayalam, Jeseri (Dweep Bhasha) and Mahal

Lakshadweep is the smallest Union Territory of India. It was earlier believed that the Lakshadweep Islands were originally Hindus, and later converted to Islam under the influence of Arab traders, sometime in the 14th century. In 1956, the islands were constituted into a single territory, and since then they have been administered by the Union Government through an Administrator.

  • Puducherry
Particulars Description
Area 479 sq km
Population 12,44,464 (Approx)
Capital Puducherry
Principal Languages Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, English, and French

Puducherry comprises the former French establishments Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe, and Yanam. It is scattered in South India. Puducherry is the capital of the Union territory was once the original headquarters of the French in India. It was under French rule for 138 years and merged with the Indian Union on 1st November 1954. It is bounded on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the three sides by Tamil Nadu.

  • NCT of Delhi
Particulars Description
Area 1,483 sq. km
Population 1,67,53,235 (Approx)
Capital Delhi
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu & English

In the year 1911, Delhi became the center of all activities as the capital was shifted from Kolkata. Delhi was made a Union Territory in 1956. Delhi is situated in the northern part of the country. It is surrounded by Haryana on all sides except the east. On the east, it borders Uttar Pradesh. The 69th Constitutional amendment is a milestone in the history of Delhi as it got a Legislative Assembly with the enactment of the National Capital Territory Act, 1991.

  •  Chandigarh
Particulars Description
Area 114 sq km
Population 10,54,686 (Approx)
Capital Chandigarh
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, English

Chandigarh serves as the joint capital of both Punjab and Haryana States. Chandigarh is a fully grown town of most modern architectural splendor. Chandigarh nestles in a picturesque setting in the foothills of Shivalik hills and enjoys the popular epithet the “City Beautiful”. Chandigarh Represents modern architecture and town planning, the city is a creation of the French Architect, Le Corbusier.

National symbols of India: Check Complete List

  • Ladakh

Ladakh was declared as the union territory by the govt. of India on 31st October 2019. Union Territory of Ladakh comprises two districts namely Leh and Kargil. Ladakh is famous worldwide for its remote mountain beauty and distinct culture. The UT of Ladakh shall comprise of two districts namely Leh and Kargil.

Leh District

    • Sub-Divisions: 6
    • Tehsils: 8
    • Blocks: 16
    • Panchayat: 95
    • Villages: 113

Kargil District

    • Sub-Divisions: 4
    • Tehsils: 7
    • Blocks: 15
    • Panchayat: 98
    • Villages: 130

Quit India Movement Day 2020; All You Need To Know

  • Jammu and Kashmir
Union Territories India
Capital Jammu ( winter ), Srinagar ( summer )
Area 222,236
Languages Urdu, Dogri, Kashmiri, Pahari, Ladakhi, Balti, Gojri and Dari

How do Delhi, Puducherry, Jammu & Kashmir have other systems than other Union Territories?

  1. Puducherry, Delhi, and Jammu, and Kashmir possess elected legislature.
  2. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry have their elected assembly. These are granted with partial statehood, by an amendment to the Constitution.
  3. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry have their own legislative assembly and executive council and operate like states. They have few subjects of State list and a few lie with the center.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How many union territories are there in India?
Ans. There are 8 Union Territories in India.

Q. Which are the new Union Territories included in India?
Ans. Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh are the new Union Territories of India.

Q. Which Union Territories have legislative assembly?
Ans. The Puducherry, Jammu & Kashmir, and NCT Delhi are the Union Territories that have a legislative assembly.

Q. Which two Union Territories are merged recently?
Ans. Daman and Diu are merged into Dadar and Nagar Haveli.

Union Territories in India: Check Latest List Of Union Territories_50.1


General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details.

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.
Was this page helpful?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *