Home   »   Prime Ministers of India   »   First Prime Minister Of India

First Prime Minister Of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru

Who is the First Prime Minister of India?

Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first prime minister of India, after India’s independence on 15th August 1947. He was also known as Pandit Nehru and 14th November, his birth anniversary is celebrated as “Children’s Day”. His love and affection for the cause of education and popular as “Chacha Nehru” as children.

Who was Jawaharlal Nehru?

Jawaharlal Nehru was an Indian freedom fighter, nationalist leader, and also the 1st and the longest-serving Prime Minister of Independent India. Nehru was born on 14 November 1889 and on his birth anniversary “Children’s day” s celebrated every year. Pandit Nehru is also known as “Chacha Nehru” due to his affection towards children and children’s education. He was an influential and leading figure in India’s independence movement who worked for Indian independence. Nehru was also seen as the political heir of Mahatma Gandhi and later became first prime minister in 1947. Nehru’s only daughter Indira Gandhi also became first and only woman prime minister of India.

The Nehruvian empire strikes back at Modi | Daily Mail Online

Early Years

Jawaharlal Nehru was born in a Kashmiri Brahman family in Allahabad on November 14, 1889. Until the age of 15, Nehru was tutored at home, Nehru subsequently attended Harrow in England and, later, Trinity College, Cambridge. After studying law at London’s Inner Temple, at the age of 22 Nehru returned to India where he practiced law with his father and prominent barrister, Motilal Nehru. In 1916, Nehru married 17-year-old Kamala Kaul. The following year, their only child, Indira was born.

List of All Presidents of India from 1947 to 2022

Political Awakening

In April 1919, British troops opened fire on thousands of unarmed civilians who had been protesting recently passed legislation that permitted the detainment of suspected political foes without trial. 379 Indians were killed in the Massacre of Amritsar and many more were wounded, this outraged Nehru and further solidified his resolve to win India’s independence. Jawaharlal Nehru was instrumental in prying the country out of the clutches of British rule.

During the Non-Cooperation Movement (1920-22) led by Mahatma Gandhi, Nehru was imprisoned for the first time for activities against the British government and, over the course of the next two and a half decades, spent a total of nine years in jail.

In 1929, Jawaharlal Nehru was elected as the president of the Indian National Congress. This was his first leadership role in politics. In response to Britain’s declaration of India’s participation in the war against Germany at the onset of World War II without consulting Indian leaders, Indian National Congress passed the Quit India movement on August 8, 1942, demanding political freedom from Britain in exchange for support in the war effort. The next day, the British government arrested all the INC leaders, including Nehru and Gandhi.

List of All Prime Ministers of India; Check Complete List

Challenges and Legacy as Prime Minister

On August 15, 1947, India finally gained its independence and Jawaharlal Nehru was elected as the nation’s first prime minister. Amid all the celebration of freshly acquired freedom, there was also considerable turmoil. The mass displacement that followed due to the partition of separate nations of Pakistan and India, along with the disputes over control of Kashmir, resulted in the loss of lives of several hundred thousand Muslims and Hindus.

Throughout his 17 years of leadership, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru promoted socialism, secularism, and democratic government and encouraged India’s industrialization beginning with the implementation of the first of his five-year plans in 1951. The plan emphasized the importance of increasing agricultural production. Nehru also promoted scientific and technological advancements through the establishment of higher learning and passed numerous social reforms such as free public education and meals for Indian children, legal rights for women including the ability to inherit property and divorce their husbands—and laws to prohibit discrimination based on caste. His was truly a full life lived for India and there is hardly any public institution or aspect of the republic that Nehru did not shape or influence.

Lesser Known Facts about Nehru

  • Jawaharlal Nehru was nominated 11 times for Noble Prize mostly for Peace during 1950-1955.
  • His birth anniversary i.e. 14th November is celebrated as ‘Children’s Day in India due to his love and affection for the cause of children’s education. He was popularly called Chacha Nehru by children.
  • During his prime ministerial tenure, Nehru mentored his daughter Indira Gandhi in political affairs. Indira Later became the Prime minister of India.
  •  Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru belonged to a Kashmiri Pandit family.
  • It was during his imprisonment in the mid-1930s that Pandit Nehru penned his autobiography, “Toward Freedom”. The book was published in the USA the following year.
  • Nehru survived four recorded assassination attempts in 1947, 1955, 1956, and 1961.
  • Nehru passed away after a massive heart attack on May 27, 1964. 1.5 million people had gathered in the streets of Delhi on the following day to mourn Nehru.

List of all Prime Ministers of India

India is a democratic country having a number of prime ministers elected by the people of India. Here, we are providing you with the lost of prime ministers of India from 1947 till now.

Name of Prime Minister Time Period
Jawaharlal Nehru 15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964
Gulzarilal Nanda 27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966
Gulzarilal Nanda 11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966
Indira Gandhi 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977
Morarji Desai 24 March 1977 to 28 July 1979
Chaudhary Charan Singh 28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980
Indira Gandhi 14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984
Rajiv Gandhi 31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989
V.P Singh 2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990
Chandra Shekhar 10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao 21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996
H.D Deve Gowda 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997
Inder Kumar Gujral 21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004
Manmohan Singh 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014
Narendra Modi 26 May 2014- Incumbent

We hope this information on the First Prime Minister Of India was helpful to you and for more study notes like this stay connected with sscadda.com. And to read this article in Hindi click on the link given below.

First Prime Minister Of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru In Hindi

Check Other Posts


Who was the first prime minister of India?

The Jawaharlal Nehru was the first prime minister of India after India's independence from Britishers.

Who was the first woman prime minister of India?

Indira Gandhi was the first woman prime minister of India. She is the only woman prime minister of India since India's independence.

Who is the present prime minister of India?

The present prime minister of India is Narendra Damodardas Modi, popularly known as Modi.

Who is the longest serving Prime Minister of India?

Jawaharlal Nehru is the longest serving prime minister of India.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *