Home   »   GK Questions   »   National Animal of India: Royal Bengal...

National Animal of India: Royal Bengal Tiger

National Animal of India: National animal is the symbol of a country’s natural abundance. The choice of selection could be based on multiple criteria. It must have a rich history and should express the country’s heritage and culture. The national animal of India is the ‘Royal Bengal Tiger’. It is Majestic and lethal at the same time. After the Inception of Project Tigers in the year 1973 due to the dwindling population of tigers in India, the government of India declared Royal Bengal Tiger as the national animal. The combination of agility, stamina, and unmatchable power has made the tiger the national animal of India.

National Animal of India: Royal Bengal Tiger_3.1

The Scientific name of Royal Bengal Tiger is Panthera tigris tigris. Tigers are the largest of the four big cats (Lion, Tiger, Jaguars and Leopards). Royal Bengal Tiger is among the eight varieties of tigers found in India. The Bengal Tiger is a powerful predator and can weigh up to 570 pounds (260 kilograms) and grow up to 10 feet (3 meters) in length. It has distinctive orange fur with black stripes, and is known for its strength, agility, and hunting abilities.

The Roar is Back

In the year 2006, Tigers were on the brink of getting extinct. The total number of tigers in the country was 1411. The numbers increased to 2967 in 2018 thanks to the steps taken by the World Wildlife Fund and government. In the year 2018, the maximum number of tigers are in Madhya Pradesh (526) closely followed by Karnataka it is 524 and Uttarakhand is on the third place with a total of 442 tigers.

Tiger Reserves in India

India is home to a diverse range of wildlife, including the Bengal tiger, one of the most majestic and endangered big cats in the world. To protect these iconic animals, the Indian government has established several tiger reserves across the country. When the project tiger was started in the year 1973 there were only 9 tiger reserves in the entire country. This number has jumped up to 50 as per the data collected in the year 2019. The names of all the tiger reserves in the country has been given below:

S. No. Name of Tiger Reserve State
1 Nagarjunsagar Srisailam Andhra Pradesh
2 Namdapha Arunachal Pradesh
3 Kamlang Tiger Reserve Arunachal Pradesh
4 Pakke Arunachal Pradesh
5 Manas Assam
6 Nameri Assam
7 Orang Tiger Reserve Assam
8 Kaziranga Assam
9 Valmiki Bihar
10 Udanti-Sitanadi Chattisgarh
11 Achanakmar Chattisgarh
12 Indravati Chhattisgarh
13 Palamau Jharkhand
14 Bandipur Karnataka
15 Bhadra Karnataka
16 Dandeli-Anshi Karnataka
17 Nagarahole Karnataka
18 Biligiri Ranganatha Temple Karnataka
19 Periyar Kerala
20 Parambikulam Kerala
21 Kanha Madhya Pradesh
22 Pench Madhya Pradesh
23 Bandhavgarh Madhya Pradesh
24 Panna Madhya Pradesh
25 Satpura Madhya Pradesh
26 Sanjay-Dubri Madhya Pradesh
27 Melghat Maharashtra
28 Tadoba-Andhari Maharashtra
29 Pench Maharashtra
30 Sahyadri Maharashtra
31 Nawegaon-Nagzira Maharashtra
32 Bor Maharashtra
33 Dampa Mizoram
34 Similipal Odisha
35 Satkosia Odisha
36 Ranthambore Rajasthan
37 Sariska Rajasthan
38 Mukandra Hills Rajasthan
39 Kalakad-Mundanthurai Tamil Nadu
40 Anamalai Tamil Nadu
41 Mudumalai Tamil Nadu
42 Sathyamangalam Tamil Nadu
43 Kawal Telangana
44 Amrabad Telangana
45 Dudhwa Uttar Pradesh
46 Pilibhit Uttar Pradesh
47 Corbett Uttarakhand
48 Rajaji TR Uttarakhand
49 Sunderbans West Bengal
50 Buxa West Bengal
These tiger reserves are not only home to tigers, but also to a variety of other wildlife species, including elephants, leopards, Indian rhinoceros, and many others. The Indian government, in collaboration with various non-governmental organizations, is working towards the conservation and protection of these species and their habitats.

Some Interesting Facts

  • Bengal Tiger was declared as the national animal of India in April 1973. Before Tiger, Lion was the national animal of India.
  • Since 2010, Royal Bengal Tiger has been classified as an endangered animal by IUCN.
  • White tigers are not a different species. They are white because some tigers are born with less pigmentary cells in their skin, which makes them look white.
  • Male Bengal tigers have an average length of 2.7m to 3.1m including the tail, while females measure 2.4m to 2.65m on average.
  • The weight of males ranges from 180 to 258 kg,  whereas females ranges from 100 to 160 kg.
  • A newborn cub remains blind in the first week of its birth.
  • An adult tiger can leap a distance of over six metres and jump can up to five metres vertically.
  • One blow of a tiger’s paw is strong enough to break a bear’s skull and can even break its spine! You can imagine condition of humans easily now!
  • Tigers have over 100 stripes on their body. Interestingly, no two tiger have the same stripe pattern.
Check Other Links:
Vitamin Deficiency Diseases Geometry Study Notes
Simple Interest Formula, Concept and Study Notes List of Governor General of India

National Animal of India: Royal Bengal Tiger_4.1



Currently how many tigers are there in the country?

As of 2019, there are 2967 tigers in India thanks to the steps taken by the World Wildlife Fund and government.

Before Tiger what was the National animal of India?

Before Tiger, Lion was the national animal of India.

What is the need to save tigers?

Tigers are terminal consumers in the ecological food pyramid and their conservation results in the conservation of all trophic levels in an ecosystem.

When was  Project Tiger started?

Project tiger was started in the year 1973 due to the dwindling population of tigers in India, the government of India declared Royal Bengal Tiger as the national animal.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *