Access to All SSC Exams Courses Grab Now
Home SSC CGL SSC CGL Syllabus 2020 : Check Detailed Syllabus Here

SSC CGL Syllabus 2020 : Check Detailed Syllabus Here

To help aspirants with that, SSCAdda is providing all the SSC CGL aspirants with the latest exam syllabus so that they will be able to prepare for the exam in the best way possible.

| Updated On April 7th, 2020 at 07:44 pm

SSC CGL Syllabus 2020: Staff Selection Commission every year conducts the SSC CGL exam for the recruitment to various Group B and Group C posts in several departments under the Government of India. This year the SSC CGL Tier 1 exam was conducted from 3rd to 9th March 2020. SSC CGL 2020-21 Notification will be released in September 2020. To crack SSC CGL 2020-21 exam one must study and prepare thoroughly, practice with a proper study plan which is based on the latest study plan according to the SSC CGL 2019-20 and based on the latest exam pattern.

General Intelligence and Reasoning is one of the highest scoring sections of SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam. This section include questions from verbal & non-verbal reasoning. These type of questions will test your ability to think and solve problems.

To help aspirants with that, SSCAdda is providing all the SSC CGL aspirants with the latest exam syllabus so that they will be able to prepare for the exam in the best way possible. Candidates can also note down all the topics and study according to the latest SSC CGL Syllabus 2020. Since the opportunity is knocking at your door, one needs to grab it with both hands to get the job they are aspiring for.

Important Links For SSC CGL Exam
Exam Pattern for SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam
Syllabus for SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam
Exam Pattern for SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam
Syllabus for SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam
Syllabus for SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam
Syllabus for SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam


Before appearing for the exam, knowing the complete syllabus of SSC CGL must be the first and foremost thing that you need to do. The entire SSC CGL 2020 syllabus for Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3 and Tier 4 is provided in the post given below. 

Tier Type of Exam Mode of Exam
Tier I Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based Mode (Online)
Tier II Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based Mode (Online)
Tier III Descriptive Paper in English or Hindi Pen and Paper mode (Offline)
Tier IV Skill Test: Data Entry Speed Test (DEST)/ Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) Wherever Applicable (Not necessary for all the post)
Document Verification Applicable for all posts


SSC CGL 2020 Exam Pattern for Tier 1 Exam

SSC CGL Tier-I 2020 exam consists of 4 sections with 25 questions each as given in the table below:

Serial No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 A cumulative time of 60 minutes
2 General Awareness 25 50
3 Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
4 English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200
  • The total time of 80 minutes is allotted to physically handicapped students.
  • 0.5 marks will be deducted from every question that is attempted wrong by a candidate.

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier 1 Exam

Students must go through the detailed SSC CGL Syllabus of all the sections which are provided below:-

SSC CGL Subject Syllabus in SSC CGL Tier 1
SSC General Intelligence and Reasoning Syllabus Classification
Word Formation
Venn Diagram
Direction and Distance
Blood Relations
Verbal reasoning
Non-Verbal Reasoning
General Awareness Static General Knowledge (Indian History, Culture, Geography
Polity, economics, neighboring countries, etc.)
Books and Authors
Current Affairs
Important Schemes
People in the News
Quantitative Aptitude Simplification
Problem on Ages
Ratio and Proportion
Speed, Distance and Time
Number System
Data Interpretation
Time and Work
English Comprehension Reading Comprehension
Fill in the Blanks
Phrases and Idioms
Sentence Correction
One word Substitution
Error Spotting

SSC CGL 2020 Exam Pattern of Tier 2 Exam

SSC CGL Tier-2 exam is of 200 marks. A time limit of 2 hours is given to candidates to complete each section of the Exam. For physically handicapped students, the cumulative time to complete the Tier-II exam is increased to 2 hours 40 minutes.

  • There will be negative marking of 0.25 for each wrong answer in Paper-II (English Language and Comprehension) and of 0.50 marks for eachj wrong answer in Paper-I, Paper-III and Paper-IV
Serial No. Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
1 Quantitative Ability 100 200 2 hours
2 English Language and Comprehension 200 200 2 hours
3 Statistics 100 200 2 hours
4 General Studies (Finance and Economics) 100 200 2 hours

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-2 Exam

Quantitative Aptitude English Language Statistics General Awareness
Simplification Reading Comprehension Collection and Representation of Data Finance and Accounting
Interest Spelling Measure of Dispersion Fundamental Principles
Averages Fill in the Blanks Measure of Central Tendency Financial Accounting
Percentage Phrases and Idioms Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis Basic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and Proportion One Word Substitution Correlation and Regression Self-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance and Time Sentence Correction Random Variables Error Spotting and Correction
Number System Error Spotting Random Variables
Mensuration Cloze Test Sampling Theory Economics and Governance
Data Interpretation Para Jumbles Analysis and Variance Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and Work Synonyms-Antonyms Time Series Analysis Finance Commission
Algebra Active-Passive Voice Index Number Theory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency


SSC CGL Syllabus 2020 of Tier 3 Exam

SSC CGL 2020 Tier III exam is a descriptive exam to analyze the written skills of the candidates in English/Hindi. The mode of examination is offline and students are required to write essays, précis, applications, letters, etc. in this exam. The exam is of 100 marks and the time allotted for the same is 60 minutes. The time allotted for candidates belonging to PWD category is increased to 80 minutes. Tier-III paper is given by specific candidates who are interested only for the post of “Statistical Investigator Grade-II” & “Compiler”.

Syllabus 2020 For Tier 4 Exam

SSC CGL Tier-4 examination constitutes a couple of skill sets required for certain Government Posts all over the country.
SSC CGL Tier-1 and SSC CGL Tier-2 exam are mandatory for all posts mentioned in the SSC CGL 2018 Notification of while Tier-3 is specifically for candidates applying for the post of Statistical Investigator Grade-II and Compiler. Similarly, the Tier-4 exam is taken by candidates applying specifically for TA, CSS, MEA, and Inspector.

You may also like to read: 



Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to