Latest SSC jobs   »   GK Questions for Govt. Exams 2021   »   Tughlaq Dynasty : Rulers and Policies...

Tughlaq Dynasty : Rulers and Policies of Tughlaq Dynasty

Tughlaq Dynasty: Tughlaq Dynasty was of Turkish origin and the family religion was Muslim. In the year 1321, Ghazi Tughlaq succeeded the throne and was given the title as Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq. The Tughlaqs were able to withhold their rule for quite some time as they had strong allies like the Turks, Afghans and the Muslim warriors of south Asia. Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq was the one who founded the Tughlaq dynasty in India. The Tughlaq Dynasty was marked by ruling with torture, cruelty and rebellions, which resulted in the rapid disintegration of the dynasty’s territorial reach after 1335 AD. The dynasty reached its highest point between AD 1330 and 1335 when military campaign led by Muhammad Bin Tughlaq. It is an important topic of General knowledge for all the government job aspirants.

Tughlaq Dynasty: Rulers

Ruler Reign
GhiyasuddinTughlaq 1320-24 AD
Muhammad Tughlaq 1324-51 AD
Firoz Shah Tughlaq 1351-88 AD
Mohammad Khan 1388 AD
Ghiyassuddin Tughlaq Shah II 1388 AD
Abu Baqr 1389-90 AD
Nasiruddin Muhammad 1390-94 AD
Humayun 1394-95 AD
Nasiruddin Mahmud 1395-1412 AD

About Tughlaq Dynasty

1320 AD- 1412 AD
Sunni Islam
Ghiyas-ud-din Tughluq Shah I, Muhammad Shah II , Mahmud Ibn Muhammad , Firuz Shah Tughluq, Ghiyas ud din Tughluq II , Abu Baker, Nasiruddin Muhammad Shah III , Sikander Shah I

GhiyasuddinTughlaq 1320-24 AD

  • Ghazni Malik the last king of the Khilji dynasty, Khusrau Khan and assumed the title     Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq.
  • He founded the city Tughlaqabad.
  • Khusrau Khan, the last king of the Khilji dynasty was killed by Ghazni Malik, and Ghazni Malik ascended the throne assuming the title GhiyasuddinTughlaq.
  • He died in an accident and his soneJauna (Ulugh Khan) succeeded him under the title Mohammad-bin-Tughlaq.
  • Reintroduced the food laws of Ala-ud-Din
  • Supressed the rebellions in the distant provinces with strong hand and resorted the peace and order
  • Organised better postal system
  • Encouraged agriculture
In 1323, he defeated the ruler of Warrangal and annexed his territory. A war of succession was going on in Bengal. Ghiyas-ud-din took an advantage of such a situtation and invaded Bengal. He suppressed the rebels and in this way Bengal also became a part of his empire.

Mohammad-bin Tughlaq (1325-1351 AD)

Mohammad bin Tughlaq is best remembered as a ruler who undertake a number of bold experiments, and showed a keen interest in agriculture. He was deeply read in religion and philosophy and had a critical and open mind. He had deep interest in philosophy, astronomy, logic and mathematics. He conversed not only with the muslim mystics, but also with the Hindu yogis and Jain saints such as Junaprabha Suri.
  • Taxation in the Doab: The Sultan made an ill-advised financial experiment in the Doab between the Ganges and Jamuna. He not only increased the rate of taxation but also revived and created some additional Abwabs or cessess. Although the share of the state remained half as in the time of Alauddin, it was fixed arbitrarily and not on the basis of actual produce.
  • Transfer of Capital (1327): It appears that the Sultan wanted to make Deogir second capital so that he might be able to control south India better. Deogir was named Daulatabad. However, after a couple of years, Muhammad Tughlaq decided to abandon Daulatabad largely because he soon found that just as he could not control south India from Delhi, he could not control North from Daulatabad.
  • Introduction of Token Currency (1330): Muhammad Tughlaq decided to introduce bronze coins, which were to have the same value as the silver coins. Muhammad Tughlaq might have been successful if he could prevent people from forging the new coins. He was not able to to do so and so on the new coins began to be greatly devalued in markets.
  • Transfer of the capital from Daultabad, earlier known as Devagiri.
  • Introduction of token copper currency to replace gold and silver coins.
  • Unsuccessful expedition to subjugate Quarajal-the region identified as the modern Kulu in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh.
  • Futile plan to conquer Khurasan and Iraq.
  • Creation of Diwan-i-Kohi
  • Independence of dinar (a gold coin) and adl(a silver coin).
  • Establishment of city of Jahanpanah.
  • Arrival of an envoy from the Chinese ruler, ToghanTimur(1341)
  • The famous Moroccon traveller Ibn Batuta visited India during his reign.

Study Notes on Prithviraj Chauhan: Early Life, Battles. Legacy and FAQs

Firoz Shah Tughlaq(1351-1388 AD)

  • He was a cousin of Mohammad-bin-Tughlaq. After his death the nobles and the theologians of the court selected Firoz Shah as the next Sultan.
  • Established of Diwan-i-Khairat (department for poor and needy people) and Diwan-l-Bundagan (department of slaves)
  • Making Iqtadari system hereditary.
  • Construction of canals for irrigation from
  • Yamuna to the city of Hissar
  • From the Sutlej to the Ghaggar
  • From the Ghaggar to Firuzabad
  • From Mandvi and Sirmour Hills to Hansi in Haryana.
  • Establishment of four new towns, Firuzabad, Fatebabad, Jaunpur and Hissar.
  • He rebuilt two storeys of QutubMinar which were damaged by lightening in 1368 AD.

Post Firoz Shah Tughlaq

  • The Tughlaq dynasty would not survive much after Firoz Shah’s death. The Malwa, Gujarat and Sharqi (Jaunpur) Kingdoms broke away from the Sultanate.
  • Timur Invasion: (1398-99) Timur, a Turk, invaded India in 1398 during the reign of Nasir-ud-din Mohammed Tughlaq, the last ruler of Tughlaq dynasty. His army mercilessely sacked and plundered Dellhi. Timur returned to Central Asia, leaving a nominee to rule to Punjab which ended the Tughlaq dynasty.

Q. Who is the founder of Tughlaq dynasty?
Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq was the founder of the Tughluq dynasty.

QWho was the last ruler of Tughlaq dynasty?
Nasir-ud-Din Mahmud Shah Tughluq also known as Nasiruddin Mohammad Shah, was the last sultan of the Tughlaq dynasty.

Tughlaq Dynasty : Rulers and Policies of Tughlaq Dynasty_50.1


Download your free content now!


Tughlaq Dynasty : Rulers and Policies of Tughlaq Dynasty_70.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

Tughlaq Dynasty : Rulers and Policies of Tughlaq Dynasty_80.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *