Home   »   Income Tax Officer

How To Become An Income Tax Officer?

Income Tax Officer

Do you ever wonder about how to become an Income Tax Officer? Getting into the income tax department under the government of India is a dream job for many people. The income tax department is the government agency responsible for undertaking direct tax collection for the government. Operating within the Ministry of Finance’s Department of Revenue, the Income Tax Officer role holds a prominent position. The role of an Income Tax Officer presents a remarkable career avenue for individuals aspiring to serve in esteemed government institutions at an elevated rank. Explore the comprehensive information below in this article, covering all aspects of becoming an Income Tax Officer, such as eligibility criteria, selection process, salary, and more.

How To Become an Income Tax Officer?

Becoming an income tax inspector requires candidates to participate in the SSC CGL exam. The Staff Selection Commission administers the combined graduate level (CGL) exam to facilitate recruitment across diverse government sectors. The selection of income tax inspectors is also conducted through the SSC CGL exam. Read below to check the comprehensive information guiding you to become an Income Tax Officer.

Eligibility Criteria To Become An Income Tax Inspector

Candidates must adhere to the criteria set by the Staff Selection Commission to appear for the examination. To get the post of an income tax inspector, you must fulfill the following eligibility criteria including qualifications and age limit.

Educational Qualification

  • Candidates must possess a Bachelor’s Degree in any discipline from a recognized University or equivalent as of the date of eligibility.

Age Limit

To be eligible to apply for the position of Income Tax Officer, candidates should be at least 18 years old, and for candidates belonging to the general category, the upper age limit is set at 30 years. For other categories, relaxation in age has been given.

Category Age Relaxation
OBC 3 years
ST/SC 5 years
PH + Gen 10 years
PH + OBC 13 years
PH + SC/ST 15 years
Ex-Servicemen (Gen) 3 years
Ex-Servicemen (OBC) 6 years
Ex-Servicemen (SC/ST) 8 years

Income Tax Department Selection Process

The selection process for the SSC CGL examination consists of 4 stages. After qualifying for each stage and scoring good marks in each stage, you will be eligible for the income tax inspector post.

Tier Type Mode
Tier-I Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based (online)
Tier-II Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based (online)
Tier-III Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi Pen and Paper mode
Tier-IV Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test Wherever Applicable

How Many Marks Do You Need TO Score To Become An Income Tax Inspector ?

The maximum marks for Tier 1 + Tier 2 + Tier 3 are 700. You must aim to be among the highest scorers to get the post of income tax inspector. Due to its power and grade pay, many aspirants desire this post and hence the cut-off is generally high. The post comes under pay level 7 with 4600 as grade pay. Try to be consistent with your preparation and strengthen your weaker areas to be among the top scorers to get this post.

Income Tax Inspector Salary

The in-hand salary of an income tax inspector may vary according to the city you live in. The in-hand salary of an income tax inspector lies in the range of 57,000 to 66,000. Check out the distribution of in-hand salary:
Pay Level Pay Level-7
Payscale Rs 44900 to 142400
Grade Pay 4600
Basic pay Rs 44900
HRA (depending on the city) X Cities (24%) 10,776
Y Cities (16%) 7,184
Z Cities (8%) 3,592
DA (Current- 31%) 13,919
Travel Allowance Cities- 3600, Other Places- 1800
Gross Salary Range (Approx) X Cities 73,195
Y Cities 69,603
Z Cities 64,211

How To Become An Income Tax Officer? Read in Hindi

Check Related Links:
Rajasthan High Court Recruitment 2023 KMRC Recruitment 2023
MP Metro Recruitment 2023 AAI Recruitment 2023


Q. What exam should I give to become an income tax inspector?

You must appear for the SSC CGL examination to get the post of income tax inspector.

What is the age limit to become income tax inspector?

The age limit to become income tax inspector must not exceed 30 years.

What is the educational qualifications of income tax inspector?

Aspirants must have a Bachelor’s Degree in any discipline.

What is the salary of an income tax inspector?

The in-hand salary if an income tax inspector lies in the range of 64,000 to 73,000.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *