



## Mahajanapadas

Feature	Details	
Meaning of Mahajanapada	'Maha' = Great, 'Janapada' = foothold of a tribe/people; Great territorial states	
Period	Circa 600 BCE – 345 BCE	
Total Number	16 Mahajanapadas	
Source Mention	Buddhist text Anguttara Nikaya	
Political System	Two types: Monarchies and Republics (Ganasanghas)	
Prominent Monarchies	tt Monarchies Magadha, Kosala, Vatsa, Avanti	
Prominent Republics	minent Republics Vrijji (or Vajji), Malla, Shakya, Kamboja	
Economic Base	nomic Base Agriculture, trade, taxes on land and commerce	
Capital Cities	Each Mahajanapada had its own capital	
Religion Influence	Influence Rise of Jainism and Buddhism during this period	
Military Development Standing armies and fortified capitals became common		

## List of 16 Mahajanapadas

No.	Mahajanapada	Capital	Туре	Modern Location
1	Anga	Champa	Monarchy	Parts of Bihar and Jharkhand
2	Magadha	Rajagriha / Pataliputra	Monarchy	South Bihar
3	Vajji (Vrijji)	Vaishali	Republic	North Bihar
4	Malla	Kusinara & Pava	Republic	Eastern Uttar Pradesh
5	Kasi	Varanasi	Monarchy	Eastern Uttar Pradesh
6	Kosala	Shravasti / Ayodhya	Monarchy	Central & Eastern Uttar Pradesh
7	Vatsa	Kausambi	Monarchy	Near Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
8	Avanti	Ujjain / Mahishmati	Monarchy	Western Madhya Pradesh
9	Chedi	Suktimati	Monarchy	Bundelkhand region
10	Kuru	Indraprastha / Hastinapur	Monarchy	Delhi & Haryana region
11	Panchala	Ahichhatra / Kampilya	Monarchy	Western Uttar Pradesh
12	Matsya	Viratanagara	Monarchy	Jaipur region, Rajasthan
13	Surasena	Mathura	Monarchy	Western Uttar Pradesh
14	Assaka (Asmaka)	Potana / Paithan	Monarchy	Southern Maharashtra / Telangana
15	Gandhara	Taxila	Monarchy	Parts of Pakistan and Afghanistan
16	Kamboja	Rajapura	Republic	Northern Pakistan / Afghanistan border area

I