Access to All SSC Exams Courses Grab Now
Home Articles Cricket World Cup Winners List: Winners, Records and FAQS

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Winners, Records and FAQS

Check out the list of ODI and T20 World Cup winners and Records and FAQs related to this mega cricketing event.

In the year 1975, the first-ever Cricket World Cup was contested in England as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. West Indies team led by their captain Clive Lloyd defeated Australia to become the champion of first-ever ODI Cricket World Cup Winners.  World Cup of 1987 was the first ever to be held outside England, it was jointly held in India and Pakistan. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50. World Cup of 1992 was the first World Cup to be played in coloured Jerseys. In 2007 Australia became the first team and to date the only team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.

PM Modi To Address The Nation Today at 8 PM: Lockdown To Be Extended?

About Course:

Prepare for all SSC exams like  SSC CGL,CHSL,CPO,Stenographer,MTS,Selection post and GD Constable etc from India’s Best Teaching Educators!

About SSC ka Maha Pack:
SSC ka Maha Pack is a full-fledged course which incorporates all the essentials like Live online classes, Test series, Video courses, eBooks & countless unprecedented features that will help you excel in all the upcoming Teaching exams like  SSC CGL,CHSL,CPO,Stenographer,MTS,Selection post and GD Constable etc

You get access to:

  • 200+ Hours of Live Classes
  • 300+ Recorded Videos
  • 500+ Total Tests
  • 100+ Ebooks 
  • Teacher's Class Notes/Slides.   

Course Language
Classes: Hindi and English (Bilingual)
Study Material: English and Hindi
Tests: English and Hindi

Validity: 1 Month

Offer available for ADDA247 APP. Download the APP Now.

SSC Test Pack Online Test Series
  1. 1400+ Tests
  2. Detailed Solutions and Analysis
  3. Content by Expert Faculties
  1. 14 Months
  2. 1 Month
  3. 3 Months
699 49/month

List of ODI Cricket World Cup Winners

Year Host Winner Score Runner-up Score Result
1975 England and Wales West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England and Wales West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England and Wales India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Netherlands Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8 Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count
2023 India

Winners By Country

Team Final Appearances Winners Runners Years Won Years Runners
Australia 7 5 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 1975, 1996
England 4 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
India 3 2 1 1983, 2011 2003
New Zealand 2 0 2 2015, 2019
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
West Indies 3 2 1 1975, 1979 1983

 ODI World Cup Records

  • Most Cricket World Cup wins: Australia (5 World Cups)
  • Most runs scored at the Cricket World Cup: Sachin Tendulkar (2,278 runs)
  • Fastest double century: Chris Gayle v Zimbabwe (2015) – 138 balls
  • Most sixes scored at the Cricket World Cup: Chris Gayle (49 Sixes)
  • Most Centuries at the Cricket World Cup: Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma (6 centuries Each)
  • Most wickets taken at the Cricket World Cup: Glenn McGrath (71 Wickets)
  • Most wickets in consecutive balls: Lasith Malinga v South Africa (2007) – 4

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners List

Twenty-Twenty Cricket (called as T20 cricket) is the latest and shortest version of cricket. The first edition of T20 cricket World Cup was held in South Africa which was won by India against Pakistan in final held in 2007. The list of all the T20 World Cup winners is given below:

Year Venue Winner Runner Match Result
2007 South Africa India Pakistan India won by 5 runs
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010 West Indies England Australia England won by 7 wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016 India West Indies England West Indies won by 4 wickets
2020 Australia

T20 World Cup Records

  • Most T20 World Cup wins: West Indies (2 World Cups)
  • Highest successful chase: England v South Africa (230-8)
  • Fastest century: Chris Gayle (47 balls)
  • Most Runs: Mahela Jayawardene (1,016 Runs)
  • Highest individual score: Brendon McCullum (123 runs)
  • Most wickets: Shahid Afridi – 39 wickets

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who has scored the most runs in ODI World Cup cricket?

Ans. Sachin Tendulkar holds the record of scoring most runs in ODI World Cup (2,278 runs).

Q. Which country has won the most no. of T20 World Cups?

Ans. West Indies has won the most T20 World Cups (2 World Cups).

Q. Which was the first ODI World Cup to be held outside England?

Ans. 1987 Cricket world cup was the first world cup to be held outside England. It was jointly held in India and Pakistan.

Q. Who holds the record of scoring most sixes in ODI World Cup History?

Ans. Chris Gayle has hit most no. of sixes in ODI world cup History (49 sixes).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to