Latest SSC jobs   »   List of Vice Presidents of India:...

List of Vice Presidents of India: Eligibility, Election, Powers and FAQs

The Vice-President of India is the second-highest constitutional post after the President in the Government of India. According to Article 65 of the Indian Constitution, the Vice-President carries out the functions of the President in case of removal, resignation, sudden death or the inability of the President to fulfill the duties. The tenure of service of the Vice-President is five years, but an extension of this tenure can be granted if there is no one to carry out the functions of the President or until a successor assumes office. Here we are providing the list of the candidates who have been elected as a Vice President so far along with the eligibility criteria. You will also get tho know how the election of Vice President is done and Powers and Frequently asked questions related to it.

Click here to get General Awareness Notes

Vice – President of India Term of office
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  • 13 May 1952 – 12 May 1957
  • 13 May 1957 – 12 May 1962
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
V. V. Giri 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
B. D. Jatti 31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
Mohammad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
K. R. Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari
  • 11 August 2007 – 11 August 2012
  • 11 August 2012 – 11 August 2017
Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 – Incumbent

Eligibility Criteria

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • Candidate must not be less than of 35 years.
  • Must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • To be eligible, candidate must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He/she should not hold any office of profit

List of All President of India

Election Process

The Vice-President of India is elected by an electoral college. Only the Members from Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha are eligible to vote. apart from the elected members of the two Houses, the nominated members such as the ones from Anglo-Indian community are also allowed to cast their votes. In order to win the election, appearing candidate must secure at least 393 votes out of 785 votes (more than 50% of votes), which is the combined strength of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.


According to the Constitution of India, Vice President is the ‘ex-officio’ Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. The  Vice President’s role is to assist the President in being the nominated head of the country. One must always remember that the office of the President and the Vice President cannot be combined in one person.

Powers and Functions

The Vice President of India, after the President, is the second-highest dignitary of India, after the president and certain powers are attached to the office of the Vice President. These are:

  •  in case of the temporary absence of the President due to illness or any other cause, the Vice President shall take charge of the functions of the President
  • In case of the vacancy of President by reason of his death, removal through impeachment or any other reason. The Vice President shall take over the duties of the President until a new President is elected and resumes office.
  • The Vice President of India is also the ex-officio Chairman of the Council of States.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who elects the Vice-President of India ?

Ans. The Vice-President is elected by an Electoral College, which consists of the members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha (both elected and nominated members).

Q. What is the term of the office of the Vice-President?

Ans. The Vice-President holds office for a term of 5 years from the date on which he enters upon his office. Vice president can shall continue to hold office, until the successor enters upon the office.

Q. Who conducts the election to the Office of Vice-President of India ?

Ans. Under Article 324 of the Constitution of India, the authority to conduct elections to the Office of Vice-President is vested in the Election Commission of India.

Q. What is the minimum age limit for someone to be the Vice president of India?

Ans. The minimum age for election to the post of Vice President is 35 yrs.

List of Vice Presidents of India: Eligibility, Election, Powers and FAQs_50.1


General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details.

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *