Under 19 World Cup 2020: List of Under 19 Cricket World Cup Winners

Under 19 World Cup: The ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is the international cricket tournament which is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) contested by national under-19 teams. The 13th edition of the ICC Under 19 World was played in South Africa (17 January – 9 February 2020). Earlier the tournament was known by the name of Youth World Cup. The ICC U-19 World Cup is a biennial event and is organized after 2 years. The first edition of the tournament was played in 1988 in Australia and was called as Youth World Cup. Read the article to check the list of all the previous winners and interesting facts.

List Of All The ICC Under-19 World Cup Winners

Below is the list of all the winners of the under-19 Cricket World Cup. Check the list given below.

Latest Update: Bangladesh clinched their maiden U-19 World Cup title in 2020 by beating the defending champions, India by 3 wickets.

Winner Runner-up  Year/Host
Australia Pakistan 1988/Australia
England New Zealand 1998/ South Africa
India Sri Lanka 2000/Sri Lanka
Australia South Africa 2002/New Zealand
Pakistan West Indies 2004/Bangladesh
Pakistan India 2006/Sri Lanka
India South Africa 2008/Malaysia
Australia Pakistan 2010/New Zealand
India Australia 2012/Australia
South Africa Pakistan 2014/UAE
West Indies India 2016/Bangladesh
India  Australia 2018/New Zealand
Bangladesh India 2020/South Africa


As you can see from the above table, India is the most successful team with 4 World Cup wins. India won the tournament in the year 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018 under the captaincies of Mohammed Kaif,  Virat Kohli,  Unmukt Chand, and Prithvi Shaw respectively.

Some interesting facts and records of the Under 19 World Cup.

  • Current England’s ODI captain Eoin Morgan holds the record of scoring max no. of runs (606). He scored them from 2004-06.
  • Shikhar Dhawan holds the record of scoring most runs in a single World Cup edition (2004).
  • Moises Henriques (Australia) and Greg Thompson (Ireland) jointly share the record of taking most wickets (27).
  • Harshita Boyagoda of Sri Lanka holds the record of the highest individual score in an innings with 191.
  • 480/6 (50 overs) by Australia against Kenya is the highest team total in the history of U-19 World Cup
  • 22 runs by Scotland against Australia is the lowest team score.
  • Enamul Haque of Bangladesh holds the record of taking most wickets in a single tournament (22)

You may also like to check:
Union Budget 2020: Know About Halwa Ceremony
Pariksha Pe Charcha 2020 Highlights: PM Modi’s Motivational Pep Talk
T20 Cricket Leagues All Over The World: All you need to know

RRB NTPC 2020 | RRB NTPC Reasoning | Blood Relation Reasoning Tricks


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to