T20 Cricket Leagues All Over The World : All you need to know

T20 Cricket Leagues All Over The World: Cricket is the biggest sport in India and Indian Premier League (IPL) is its biggest ambassador. But do know that T20 leagues similar to IPL are played all over the world. This article focuses and covers all the major T20 leagues that are being played all over the globe.

Big Bash League- Australia

Big Bash League (BBL) is the professional T20 league played in Australia. BBL was started in 2011 and is played during the Australian summer from December to January. Eight teams participate in the tournament and since 2018-19 season the tournament consists of 56 matches. Melbourne Renegades are the current champion having won their first trophy in the latest edition of Big Bash. Pearth Scroachers are the most successful team and have featured in five of the eight finals, winning the tournament 3 times.

Pakistan Super League- Pakistan

Pakistan Super League as the name denotes is the T20 league played in Pakistan. The first edition of PSL was played in 2016. PSL is played during the months of February-March. Six teams participate in the tournament. PSL follows a double round-robin format and every team plays each other twice and the top four teams advance to the play-off. Quetta Gladiators are the current champions and Islamabad United are the most successful team with two titles to their name.

Indian Premier League- India

Indian Premier League (IPL) is easily the biggest and the most-watched Professional T20 league in the world. IPL is played during the months of March/April till May. The first edition of IPL was played in 2008 in which Rajasthan Royals emerged as the champions. Mumbai Indians are the current and most successful team having lifted the title 4 times. IPL follows the same tournament format as Big Bash and each team plays each other twice in a home and away round robin. International players from all around the world in this money rich cricket league.

Twenty20 Cup- England

Twenty20 Cup is played between 18 county sides and is the top-level T20 tournament played in England. Leicestershire Foxes are the most successful team in the tournament and have won three titles and Essex Eagles are the current holders of the title. The tournament starts in the month of July and August and is played till September in which over 100 games are played.

Caribbean Premier League- West Indies

Caribbean Premier League(CPL) is the cricket carnival hosted by West Indies featuring 6 teams and each team plays 10  matches in the group stage. Barbados Tridents are the current champions while Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team with three titles. The first edition of CPL was held in 2013.

Bangladesh Premier League- Bangladesh

Bangladesh Premier League(BPL) is the professional cricket league held in Bangladesh. Its first edition was played in 2012. BPL is a round robin based tournament featuring seven teams. The tournament is held between the months of November and extends up to December. Rajshahi Royals are the current champions and Dhaka Dynamites have won the tournament most times with 3 titles.

Other T20 leagues that are being played over the world are: Afghanistan Premier League, Canadian Global T20 Canada, Lankan Premier League and Mzansi Super League in South Africa.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *