RRB JE Geography Quiz: 19th March

Dear Readers, GA section is taken on the light note but plays a vital role in achieving the score required to cross the cut off marks.We are providing important Geography Questions for this, it will help you to score good in GA section if you regularly follow the contents provided on scaffold website and adda247 app regarding general knowledge important questions.We wish you the best wishes for all the upcoming exams.

Q1. Which of the following rivers makes an estuary?
निम्नलिखित में से कौन सी नदी एक नदीमुख का निर्माण करती है?
(a) Krishna / कृष्णा
(b) Mahanadi / महानदी
(c) Godavari / गोदावरी
(d) Narmada / नर्मदा

Show Answer
S1. Ans.(d)
Sol.An ESTUARY is a partly enclosed coastal body of water with one or more rivers or streams flowing into it, and with a free connection to the open sea.

Q2. River Damodar is called ‘Sorrow of Bengal’ because it
दामोदर नदी को ‘बंगाल का शोक ‘ कहा जाता है क्योंकि यह
(a) gets flooded often causing havoc/ अक्सर बाड़ से बाधा उत्पन्न करती है
(b) causes maximum soil erosion/ अधिकतम मृदा अपरदन का कारण बनती है
(c) forms number of dangerous waterfalls/ खतरनाक झरने की संख्या बनाती हैं
(d) is not a perennial river / एक बारहमासी नदी नहीं है

Show Answer
S2. Ans.(a)
Sol.Damodar River is a river flowing across the Indian states of Jharkhand and West Bengal. Rich in mineral resources, the valley is home to large-scale mining and industrial activity. Earlier known as the Sorrow of Bengal because of its ravaging floods in the plains of West Bengal, the Damodar and its tributaries have been somewhat tamed with the construction of several dams. It is the most polluted river of India (by 2003).

Q3. Sardar Sarovar dam is built on the river.
सरदार सरोवर बांध किस नदी पर बनाया गया है?
(a) Tapti/ ताप्ती
(b) Mahi/ माही
(c) Chambal/ चंबल
(d) Narmada/ नर्मदा

Show Answer
S3. Ans.(d)
Sol.The Sardar Sarovar Dam is a gravity dam on the Narmada river near Navagam, Gujarat in India. Four Indian states, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharastra and Rajasthan, receive water and electricity supplied from the dam. The foundation stone of the project was laid out by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru on April 5, 1961.

Q4. The watershed between India and Myanmar is formed by
किसके द्वारा भारत और म्यांमार के बीच जल विभाजन का निर्माण होता है?
(a) the Naga hills/ नागा पहाड़ियों
(b) the Garo hills/ गारो पहाड़ियों
(c) Khasi hills/ खासी पहाड़ियों
(d) the Jaintia hills / जयंतिया पहाड़ियों

Show Answer
S4. Ans.(a)
Sol.The Naga Hills, reaching a height of around 3,825 metres (12,549 ft), lie on the border of India and Burma (Myanmar). They are part of a complex mountain system, and the parts of the mountain ranges inside the Indian state of Nagaland and the Burmese region of Sagaing are called the Naga Hills.

Q5. What should be the percentage of forest cover for India to maintain her ecological balance?
भारत के लिए पारिस्थितिक संतुलन बनाए रखने के लिए वन आवरण का प्रतिशत क्या होना चाहिए?
(a) 11.1 percent /11.1 प्रतिशत
(b) 22.2 percent /22.2 प्रतिशत
(c) 33.3 percent /33.3 प्रतिशत
(d) 44.4 percent /44.4 प्रतिशत

Show Answer
S5. Ans.(c)
Sol.National forest policy of 1952 had a target of keeping 33% of land area under forest in India because that percentage is regarded as the minimum required for maintaining ecological balance in a country.

Q6. Which of the following food grain crops occupies the largest part of the cropped area in India?
निम्नलिखित में से कौन सी अनाज फसलों ने भारत में फसल क्षेत्र का सबसे बड़ा हिस्सा ले रखा है?
(a) Barley and maize / जौ और मक्का
(b) Jowar and bajra / ज्वार और बाजरा
(c) Rice / चावल
(d) Wheat / गेहूं

Show Answer
S6. Ans.(c)
Sol.The principal food grain of India is rice. In terms of rice production, the country holds the second position all over the world. Rice is grown in approximately 34% of the overall cropped territory of the country. Rice production comprises 42% of the overall food crop production in the country.In India, rice is grown in the eastern and western shoreline areas, Northeast India, and the drainage basin of river Ganga. The important rice growing states in India are as follows: Punjab, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh

Q7.The zonal soil type of peninsular India belongs to
प्रायद्वीपीय भारत के क्षेत्रीय मिट्टी का प्रकार _________से संबंधित है.
(a) red soils / लाल मिट्टी
(b) yellow soils / पीले मिट्टी
(c) black soils / काली मिट्टी
(d) older alluvium / पुराना जलोढ़क

Show Answer
S7. Ans.(a)
Sol.This type of soil seen mainly in low rainfall area.Also known as Omnibus group.It has Porous, friable structure.Soil has Absence of lime, kankar (impure calcium carbonate)and deficient in lime, phosphate, manganese, nitrogen, humus and potash.Colour: Red because of Ferric oxide.The lower layer is reddish yellow or yellow.Texture: Sandy to clay and loamy.Wheat, cotton, pulses, tobacco, oilseeds, potato etc are cultivated.Found in Eastern and southern part of the deccan plateau, Orissa, Chattisgarh and southern parts of the middle Ganga plain.

Q8. Which one of the following is not a member country of the Mano River Union?
निम्नलिखित में से कौन सा मानो नदी संघ का सदस्य देश नहीं है?
(a) Liberia / लाइबेरिया
(b) Sierra Leone / सिएरा लियोन
(c) Guinea / गिनी
(d) Nigeria / नाइजीरिया

Show Answer

S8. Ans.(d)
Sol.The Mano River Union (MRU) is an Intergovernmental Institution comprising Sierra Leone, Liberia, Guinea and Côte d’Ivoire.The Organization aims to strengthen the capacity of Member States to integrate their economies and coordinate development programs in the areas of peace building, as a prerequisite to any development, trade promotion, development of industry, energy, agriculture, natural resources, transport and telecommunications, monetary and financial affairs in short, all aspects of economic and social life of the Member States.

Q9. How many states and union territories of India have sea coast?
भारत के कितने राज्यों और केंद्र शासित प्रदेशों के समुद्र तट है?
(a) 9 States and 5 Union Territories / 9 राज्य और 5 केंद्र प्रशासित प्रदेश
(b) 8 States and 3 Union Territories / 8 राज्य और 3 केंद्र प्रशासित प्रदेश
(c) 9 States and 4 Union Territories/ 9 राज्य और 4 केंद्र प्रशासित प्रदेश
(d) 7 States and 3 Union Territories/ 7 राज्य और 3 केंद्र प्रशासित प्रदेश

Show Answer

S9. Ans.(c)
Sol.The states which have a sea-line running along their borders are nine viz. Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and West Bengal. Two Union territories with sea-line are Daman & Diu and Puducherry, while Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Lakshadeweep Islands are island territories.

Q10. The Mount Kosciuszko, is the highest point in _____?
माउंट कोज़िअस्को, _____ में उच्चतम बिंदु है?
(a) Australia /ऑस्ट्रेलिया
(b) Japan /जापान
(c) Sri Lanka / श्रीलंका
(d) Bangladesh / बांग्लादेश

Show Answer
S10. Ans.(a)
Sol.Mount Kosciuszko, also spelled Mount Kosciusko, Australia’s highest peak, rising to an elevation of 7,310 feet (2,228 metres) in the Snowy Mountains of the Australian Alps, southeastern New South Wales.The region has been developed for winter sports. The mountain was named by Polish explorer Paul Strzelecki in 1840 in honour of Tadeusz Kościuszko, a Polish patriot and statesman.