Previous Year Questions of Indian Polity For SSC CGL 2017

Hello readers, Here we provide you with an Indian polity Quiz as per the syllabus of SSC CGL TIER-I. Most of the questions are from previous years paper. This Quiz surely helps you to fetch more marks in final exams.

Q1. The President addresses his resignation letter to the
(a) Chief Justice of India
(b) Speaker
(c) Vice President
(d) Prime Minister

Q2.The first President of Independent India hails from
(a) U.P.               
(b) Andhra Pradesh
(c) Bihar              
(d) Tamil Nadu
Q3.Who was the first chairman of Finance commission of india?
Q4.Which Amendment Act introduced changes in the Preamble to the Indian Constitution?
(a) the 38th Amendment Act, 1975
(b) the 40th Amendment Act, 1976
(c) the 42nd Amendment Act, 1976
(d) the 44th Amendment Act, 1979
Q5.What is the tenure of the President of India?
(a) Five years
(b) During the ‘pleasure’ of the President
(c) Six years or till the age of 65 years whichever is earlier
(d) Five years or till the age of 65 years whichever is earlier
 Q6.Who is the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces in India?
(a) The Prime Minister
(b) The Commander-in-chief
(c) The President of India
(d) Minister of Defence
Q7.If a Panchayat is dissolved, elections are to be held within:
(a) One month
(b) Three months
(c) Six months
(d) One year
Q8.A person arrested and / or detained by Police, has to be produced before nearest Magistrate within …………period?
(a)12 hours
(b)24 hours
(c)36 hours
(d)48 hours
Q9. Which of the following is the correct chrono-logical order of the Prime Ministers in India?
I. Indira Gandhi
II. Jawaharlal Nehru
III. Morarji Desai
IV. Charan Singh
(a) I, II, III, IV
(b) II, III, I, IV
(c) II, I, III, IV
(d) III, II, IV, I
Q10. Which of the following is true in context of the President?
(a) He addresses the first session of the Parliament after each general election of the Lok Sabha and at the commencement of the first session of each year.
(b) He addresses the first session of Parliament at the beginning of each year as well as the last session held at the end of each year.
(c) He addresses the Parliament daily.
(d) None of these.
Q11. Who was the member of the Rajya Sabha when first appointed as the Prime Minister of India?
(a) Lal Bahadur Shastri
(b) Indira Gandhi
(c) Morarji Desai
(d) Charan Singh
Q12. The President of the Union of India has the same constitutional authority as the
(a) British Monarch
(b) President of USA
(c) President of France
(d) President of USSR
Q13. The Council of Ministers is responsible to
(a) The Prime Minister
(b) The President
(c) The People
(d) The Parliament
Q14. A person who is not a member of Parliament can be appointed as a Minister by the President for a maximum period of
(a) 9 months
(b) 6 months
(c) 12 months
(d) 3 months
Q15.The Prime Minister acts as a channel of communication between the President and the Council of Ministers is provided by
(a) Convention
(b) Statute
(c) Article 78
(d) Article 75
 Dear Students, Please share your SSC CHSL 2016 Answer key pdf with us at:


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to