Previous Year History Questions for SSC CGL 2017

Dear students, SSC CGL Tier-1 Exam is near, now you need to pace up your studies. In GA Section, generally, 5 to 6 questions are asked from HISTORY PORTION. So we are providing 15 previous year questions everyday. these questions will help in improving your GENERAL AWARENESS portion.

Q1. The Political Guru of Mahatma Gandhi was
(a) DadabhaiNaoroji
(b) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(c) MahadevGovindRanade
(d) BalGangadharTilak

Q2. Who among the following is known as the ‘Napoleon of India’?
(a) Chandragupta
(b) Samudragupta
(c) Harshavardhana
(d) Ashoka

Q3. When was the office of District Collector created?

(a) 1786
(b) 1772
(c) 1771
(d) 1773

Q4. Who is popularly known as the Grand Old Man of India?
(a) DadabhaiNaoroji
(b) Madan Mohan Malaviya
(c) MahadevaGovindaRanade
(d) Surendranath Banerjee
Q5. Which Brigadier was associated with JallianwalaBagh tragedy?
(a) General Dyer
(b) Arthur Wellesly
(c) General Harris
(d) Colonel Wellesly

Q6. The Bandung Conference was a major milestone in the history of:

(a) The Non-aligned movement
(b) Indo-Chinese relationship
(c) U.S. – Vietnam War
(d) Creation of ASEAN

Q7. Who is the creator of the piece titled “Portrait of Francoise”?
(a) Leonardo da Vinci
(b) Paul Cezanne
(c) Pablo Picasso
(d) H. Rembrandt
S7. Ans.(c) 

Q8. When is the Independence Day of Pakistan celebrated?

(a) 15 August
(b) 4 July
(c) 16 August
(d) 14 August

Q9. First Indian Comander-in-Chief was
(a) Gen. K.S. Thimayya
(b) Gen. K.M. Kariappa
(c) S.H.F.J. Manekshaw
(d) None of the above

Q10. After Independence, Hyderabad, the State of Nizam, was taken over by the Indian Government through

(a) Police action
(b) Military action
(c) Persuasion
(d) Negotiations

Q11. The ‘Purna’ Swaraj’ resolution was adopted in the annual session of the Indian National Congress held at
(a) Bombay
(b) Lahore
(c) Calcutta
(d) Madras 


Q12. The Second battle of Panipat was fought in the year:
(a) 1526 A.D.
(b) 1556 A.D.
(c) 1761 A.D.
(d) 1776 A.D.

Q13. ‘Kesari’, the Newspaper was started by:
(a) G.K. Gokhale
(b) B.G. Tilak
(c) Sardar Patel
(d) Raja Ram Mohan Roy

Q14. What was the name of the Newspaper edited by Gandhiji till 1933?

(a) Sarvodaya
(b) Arya
(c) Times of India
(d) Young India

Q15. Mahatma Gandhi launched the Civil Disobedience Movement in 1930 from

(a) Sabarmati Ashram
(b) Ahmedabad
(c) Porbandar
(d) Dandi

You may also like to read:


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to