National Highways | GA Study Notes : SSC CGL Tier-1 2017

National Highways

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) was constituted by an act of Parliament, the National Highways Authority of India Act,1988. It is responsible for the development, maintenance and management of National Highways entrusted to it and for matters connected.The Authority was operationalised in Feb 1995.

The National Highways Development Project (NHDP) is a major effort to expand and upgrade the network of highways. NHAI often uses a public-private partnership model for highway development, maintenance, and toll-collection.The NHDP (National Highway Development Project) is currently operating in three phases: The Golden Quadrilateral, North-South East-West Corridor, and other minor port connectivity projects.
The Golden Quadrilateral (5,846 km) connects four major cities: Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata.

India has the 2nd largest road network in the world spreading over 4.24 million kms at present, consisting of national highways(NH), expressways, state highways(SH), district roads and village roads.The total length of NH (including expressways) in the country at present is 93,051 km. While highways constitute only about 1.7% of the length of all roads, they carry about 40% of the road traffic. Here we are providing a list of few highways important for SSC CGL.

  • NH1 Amritsar to New Delhi.
  • NH1A Jalandhar to Uri (Only highway passing through Jawahar Tunnel).
  • NH2 New Delhi to Kolkata (NH-1 and NH-2 are collectively called as the Grand Trunk Road).
  • NH3 Agra to Mumbai
  • NH4 Mumbai to Chennai
  • NH16 (NH5) Chennai to Kolkata (Previously known as NH5)
  • NH6 Kolkata to Hazira (Gujarat) [2nd longest highway]
  • NH44(NH7) Varanasi to Kanyakumari (Previously named as NH7. It is the longest National Highway. Its length is 2369 km. and it crosses seven States namely UP, MP, Maharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Tamil Nadu.NH-1 and NH-7 cross each other at Nagpur)
  • NH8 New Delhi to Mumbai (via Jodhpur Jaipur, Ahmedabad)
  • NH9 Pune to Macchlipattanam (Andhra)
  • NH10 Delhi to Fazalikka (Punjab)
  • NH15 Hazira to Pathankot (Only Highway passing to Thar desert)
  • NH17 Mumbai to Kochi
  • NH31 Patna to Guwahati (Lifeline of NE India)
  • NH39    →  Numaligarh to Indo-Myanmar Border (NH-39 is called as “Lifeline of Myanmar”)
  • NH47A Kochi to Wellington Island (Kerala, Shortest National Highway of length 6 km)
  • NH24 New Delhi to Ghaziabad
Milestones– Milestones play a significant role too. They help distinguish a national highway from a city highway or a state highway based on these specifications:
  • National: Yellow and white
  • State: Green and white.
  • City: Black and white
Also, the milestones on all the highways constructed under Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana display an orange and white combination.

More than 2400+ Candidates were selected in SSC CGL 2016 from Career Power Classroom Programs.
9 out of every 10 candidates selected in SSC CGL last year opted for Adda247 Online Test Series.

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to