Access to All SSC Exams Courses Buy Now
Home Articles List of SSC Chairman (1976-2020); Staff Selection Commission Chairman

List of SSC Chairman (1976-2020); Staff Selection Commission Chairman

Who is the current SSC chairman? Staff Selection Commission appoints a chairman to control its activities. Check out the complete list of SSC chairman over the years from 1976 to 2020.

List of SSC Chairman (1976-2020)

Staff Selection Commission has a chairman who manages the activities to be conducted by the commission. The commission is under the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) which consists of a Chairman, two Members and a Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations. The post is equivalent to the level of Additional Secretary to the Government of India. The last SSC chairman was B R Sharma who was relieved from the post of Chairman on May 24th 2020. Now, SSC is yet to appoint the SSC new chairman who will be serving the commission.

SSC CGL Income Tax Inspector: Salary, Job Profile And Career Growth

About Course:

"Did you Know? In this pack you will get All new content we launch in the next 1 months"

This is the most recommended and NRA-CET ready Pack!
Use Code 'DREAM' to avail at best price today

2000 Students are visiting this Product daily! Hurry now! Seats are Filling fast


About SSC Maha Pack
If you are preparing for more than 1 SSC exams then this is the pack we recommend you buy.

It is most cost-effective and you get access to 100% digital content for all SSC exams on Adda247.SSC Exams Covered in this Pack


SSC Maha Pack Highlights 

  • Structured course content
  • Recorded classes available if you miss any live class
  • Previous Years’ Papers of all upcoming exams.
  • Full Length Mocks based on the latest pattern with detailed solutions (video solutions for certain topics)
  • Topic level knowledge tests
  • Strategy sessions, time management & Preparation tips from the experts
  • Language: English & Hindi Medium


Validity: 1 Month

SSC Maha Pack
  1. Unlimited Live Classes & Recorded Video Courses
  2. Unlimited Tests and eBooks
  3. 1 Lakh+ Selections
  1. 15 Months
  2. 9 Months
  3. 3 Months
  4. 1 Month
4799 319/month

SSC Chairman List (1976-2020)

The first SSC Chairman who served was Saiyid Hamid appointed in 1976. He served the office for four years and completed his tenure in 1980. Candidates can go through the complete list for the Chairman for SSC listed below with the names and tenure of office:

List of SSC Chairman
Sl. No Names of Chairman Appointed In Served Till
1. Shri Saiyid Hamid July 1st 1976 June 16 1980
2. Smt. Inderjit Kaur July 10 1980 July 10 1985
3. Shri S.C. Mittal July 23 1985 July 23 1990
4. Shri S.N. Bajpe July 23 1990 July 12.1994
5. Shri B. Sankaran November 28 1994 November 9 1998
6. Shri K.M. Lal November 1 1999 June 21 2002
7. Shri B.K. Misra June 24 2002 October 19 2004
8. Shri Prakash Chander* December 20 2004 November 23 2005
9. Shri I.M.G. Khan** November 28 2005 January 12 2006
10 Shri Brahm Dutt** January 13 .2006 October 30 2006
11. Dr. (Smt.) C T Misra October 30 2006 October 27 2008
12. Smt. Vibha Puri Das** October 29 2008 April 23 2009
13. Shri N.K. Raghupathy April 24.2009 March 2 2013
14. Shri A. Bhattacharyya March 20 2013 December 2 2015
15. Shri Ashim Khurana December 9 2015 October 24 2019
16. Braj Raj Sharma October 24 2019 May 24 2020


SSC Exams are held for the recruitment of the following posts

  • Lower Division Clerks in various Ministries and Departments including those participating in the Central Secretariat Clerical Service or Indian Foreign Service, Railway Board Secretariat Clerical Service and Armed Forces Headquarters Clerical Service;
  • Grade “C” and Grade ‘D” Stenographers
  • Assistants in the various Ministries/Departments including those participating in the Central Secretariat Service/ IFS/ Railway Board Secretariat Service/Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service;
  • Inspectors of Central Excise, Inspectors of Income-Tax, Preventive Officers and Examiners in different Custom Houses, Assistant Enforcement Officers
  • Sub-Inspectors in the Central Bureau of Investigation and Central Police Organisations;
  • Divisional Accountants, Auditors and Accountants under the Office of Comptroller and Auditor General of India & other Accounts Departments
  • Upper Division Clerks in Attached and Subordinate Offices of the Government of India.
  • Junior Engineer (Civil & Electrical) in CPWD, a Group ‘C’ Non-Gazetted, Non-Ministerial, General Central Services (Technical) post.
  • Statistical Investigators, Grade IV of Subordinate Statistical Service (SSC), a Group ‘C’ non-gazetted, non-ministerial post in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation
  • Tax Assistant in various departments of Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and Central Board of Excise and Customs
  • Section Officer (Audit), a Group B Non-Gazetted post in the Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General.
  • Section Officer, a Group “B” Non-gazetted post in the Indian Audit and Accounts Department

SSC Chairman FAQs

Q. Who is Braj Raj Sharma?
Braj Raj Sharma was the last SSC chairman who was relieved from the post on May 24th 2020.

Q. Who is the current chairman of SSC?
Currently, there is no chairman of SSC and it is yet to be appointed.

Q. Who was the first chairman of SSC?
The first SSC Chairman who served was Saiyid Hamid appointed in 1976.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to