Latest SSC jobs   »   List Of Chief Ministers Of Delhi

List Of Chief Ministers Of Delhi

The 7th Delhi Legislative Assembly Elections were held on 8th February 2020. The national capital Territory is seen to be conducting elections for the 70 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). Presently, Arvind Kejriwal is the Chief Minister of Delhi. Now, the question arising in the mind of citizens of Delhi is will he retain his position this time or it will be taken over by another party?  The answer will be provided when the counting of the votes for 70 Assembly constituencies in Delhi will be done on February 11.

As Delhi is all set to witness the fate of 7th Legislative Assembly Elections, let’s take a look at the list of Delhi Chief Ministers till date. Since 1952, Delhi has witnessed 7 Chief Ministers. Chaudhary Brahm Prakash was the first Chief Minister of Delhi in 1952. In October 1998, Sushma Swaraj became the first woman chief minister of Delhi. The CM who held the office for the longest time was Sheila Dikshit whose 15-year reign as chief minister from 1998 to 2013 was the longest by an Indian woman.

S.NO Name of the CM Term
1 Chaudhary Brahm Prakash 1952 – 1955
2 G N Singh 1955 – 1956
Office Abolished 1956–1993
3 Madan Lal Khurana 1993-1996
4 Sahib Singh Verma 1996-1998
5 Sushma Swaraj 12 October 1998 – 3 December 1998
6 Sheila Dikshit 1998 – 2013
7 Arvind Kejriwal Dec 28, 2013 – Feb 14, 2014
President’s rule 14 February 2014 -14 February 2015
8 Arvind Kejriwal 2015 – Present



Download your free content now!


List Of Chief Ministers Of Delhi_40.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List Of Chief Ministers Of Delhi_50.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *