Latest SSC jobs   »   List of Chief Guests of Republic...

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: From 1950 to 2021

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: Every year India invites foreign leaders for the Republic Day parade, to improve the relations between the countries and show the diversity and unity present in the Indian culture. This will be the 72nd Republic Day of India.  When India celebrates its Republic Day, the world keeps eye on it. India is known for its traditional values, culture, and rituals it follows.

India has traditionally been inviting foreign leaders as the chief guest from the first Republic Day this year also Prime Minister Narendra Modi had invited his British counterpart Boris Johnson to grace the 72nd Republic Day celebrations as chief guest.  But the UK PM called PM Modi to inform him about his trip cancellation to India due to the outbreak of the new coronavirus cases in Britain. This is the first time in the history of Indian Republic Day that there will be no guests present in the celebration.

The chief guest for the 71st Republic Day celebration is Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro. This will be the 3rd time that the Brazilian leader will be attending the Republic Day ceremony.

PM Narendra Modi met Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro during the 11th BRICS Summit on November 13, 2019 and invited the Brazilian President to attend the Republic Day ceremony. The Brazilian President gladly accepted PM Modi’s invitation. During their meeting at the BRICS Summit, the two leaders agreed to enhance the strategic partnership between the two nations. PM Modi outlined areas for potential investment from Brazil including areas like agricultural equipment, biofuels, post-harvest technologies and animal husbandry.

Check List Of Important Days & Dates Of The Year
Check List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020

Following is the list of Chief Guest who have been invited for Republic Day Ceremony:

Year Guest name Country
1950 President Sukarno Indonesia
1951 King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah Nepal
1952 No Invitation
1953 No Invitation
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1955 Governor General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1956 Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler United Kingdom
Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka Japan
1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying[20] China
1959 Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip United Kingdom
1960 Chairman Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
1961 Queen Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1966 No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah Afghanistan
1968 Chairman Alexei Kosygin Soviet Union
President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1974 President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987 President Alan Garcia Peru
1988 President J. R. Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996 President Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak South Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015 President Barack Obama United States
2016 President François Hollande France
2017 Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan United Arab Emirates
2018 Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah Brunei
Prime Minister Hun Sen Cambodia
President Joko Widodo Indonesia
Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith Laos
Prime Minister Najib Razak Malaysia
State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi Myanmar
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte Philippines
Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong Singapore
Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha Thailand
Prime Minister Nguyễn Xuân Phúc Vietnam
2019 President Cyril Ramaphosa South Africa
2020 President Jair Bolsonaro Brazil
2021 No guest due to Pandemic

Former Presidents of Brazil, Fernando Henrique Cardoso, and President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, had visited in 1996 and 2004, respectively. The two countries share important bilateral relations and are members of multiple forums like BRICS, BASIC, G-20, G-4, IBSA, International Solar Alliance, and Biofuture Platform.

Many experts have stated that the visit by the Brazilian President will help in improving trade, investment, and friendship between the two countries.

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: From 1950 to 2020_50.1

Click here for Free Study Material For SSC Exams 2019-2021

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: From 1950 to 2020_60.1

Download your free content now!


List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: From 1950 to 2020_80.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day: From 1950 to 2020_90.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *