Latest SSC jobs   »   List Of BJP Presidents From 1980...

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980-2020: BJP or Bhartiya Janta Party is a major political party in India, largest in terms of representation in the National Parliament. The party was founded in 1980 by Atal Bihari Vajpayee and LK Advani and contested its first general elections in 1984 where it won only 2 seats. Over the years, the party gained popularity and became the largest party in the Lok Sabha.

BJP has witnessed a total of 11 presidents till date. LK Advani has been the president for the longest term and was elected 3 times. On 20th January 2020, Jagat Prakash Nadda was elected as the 11th official full-time president of Bhartiya Janta Party, unopposed. JP Nadda has been serving as the working president of BJP from June 2019 after Amit Shah, the previous president, was appointed as the Minister of Home Affairs keeping up with “One Man, One Post” ideology of BJP.

Here, we are providing the list of BJP National Presidents from 1980 to 2020 including the time period they served. Check out the table given below:

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 To 2020

From Atal Bihari Vajpayee to JP Nadda, here is the list of presidents that BJP has witnessed from the time it was founded in 1980.

Number Name of BJP President Term
1 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1980–1986
2 L. K. Advani 1986–1991
3 Murli Manohar Joshi 1991–1993
Second Term L. K. Advani 1993–1998
4 Kushabhau Thakre 1998–2000
5 Bangaru Laxman 2000–2001
6 Jana Krishnamurthi 2001–2002
7 Venkaiah Naidu 2002–2004
Third Term L. K. Advani 2004–2005
8 Rajnath Singh 2005–2009
9 Nitin Gadkari 2009–2013
Second Term Rajnath Singh 2013–2014
10 Amit Shah 2014 – 2020
11 Jagat Prakash Nadda 2020- present


Journey Of Jagat Prakash Nadda

JP Nadda is the 11th president of the Bhartiya Janta Party, since the time it was founded by Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 1980. Originally from Himachal Pradesh, JP Nadda was born in Bihar into a family with no political background. He studied in Bihar until college after which he shifted to his home state to pursue LLB from Himachal Pradesh University. He held leadership positions and lead students’ Union until 1993 when he won the assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh. In 2012, JP Nadda was elected as a Rajya Sabha MP, starting his innings nationally. With his contribution towards the party paving its way through the country, JP Nadda has been a significant part of BJP. He served as the Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare in the first term of the Modi government from 2014-2019.

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020_50.1

Are you preparing for State Level Recruitment exams 2020? Register now to get free study material 

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020_60.1

Download your free content now!


List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020_80.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List Of BJP Presidents From 1980 to 2020_90.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.