Latest SSC jobs   »   Government Jobs   »   List of 28 States of India

List of 28 States of India, Check First Established State

List of 28 States of India

List of 28 States of India: India became a democratic republic on January 26, 1950, when it gained independence from British rule. The people of India now had the power to elect their own representatives to make decisions for the country. India is a diverse country with 28 states, each with its own capital and language. Learning about the different cultures of India is a fascinating way to experience the country.

List of 28 States of India and Capitals

India is a vast and diverse country with 28 states and 8 union territories. Each state has its own unique culture, history, and language. The capitals of the states are also home to some of the most important cultural and historical sites in India. Here is the list of the 28 Indian States and capitals that every Indian must know:

Serial No. State Name Capital Establishment Date
1 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (Proposed: Amaravati) 1 November 1956
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 20 February 1987
3 Assam Dispur 26 January 1950
4 Bihar Patna 26 January 1950
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur 1 November 2000
6 Goa Panaji 30 May 1987
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar 1 May 1960
8 Haryana Chandigarh 1 November 1966
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 25 January 1971
10 Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar in Summer & Jammu in Winter October 26, 1947
11 Jharkhand Ranchi 15 November 2000
12 Karnataka Bengaluru (Formerly Bangalore) 1 November 1956
13 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 1 November 1956
14 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 1 November 1956
15 Maharashtra Mumbai 1 May 1960
16 Manipur Imphal 21 January 1972
17 Meghalaya Shillong 21 January 1972
18 Mizoram Aizawl 20 February 1987
19 Nagaland Kohima 1 December 1963
20 Odisha Bhubaneswar 26 January 1950
21 Punjab Chandigarh 1 November 1956
22 Rajasthan Jaipur 1 November 1956
23 Sikkim Gangtok 16 May 1975
24 Tamil Nadu Chennai 26 January 1950
25 Telangana Hyderabad 2 June 2014
26 Tripura Agartala 21 January 1972
27 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 26 January 1950
28 Uttarakhand Dehradun (Winter), Gairsain (Summer) 9 November 2000
29 West Bengal Kolkata 1 November 1956

States Reorganization Act of 1956

The States Reorganization Act of 1956 was a landmark legislation that reorganized the states of India along linguistic lines. The Act abolished the previous system of classifying states into Part A, Part B, and Part C, and instead created a single category of states.

The Act was passed in response to the demands of people from different linguistic groups who wanted to be able to govern themselves in their own language. The Act was also seen as a way to promote national unity by reducing the number of princely states and bringing them under the control of the central government.

The Act has been amended several times since it was passed, and new states have been created in accordance with the linguistic principle. In 2000, three new states were created: Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, and Uttaranchal. In 2014, Telangana was created from Andhra Pradesh.

The States Reorganisation Act has had a significant impact on the political and social landscape of India. It has helped to promote national unity and to ensure that the voices of all linguistic groups are heard.

States and Union Territories of India

India is a union of states and in the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of the Executive. The system of state government closely resembles that of the Union. The boundaries of Indian states are reorganized on a linguistic basis by the States Reorganization Act, of 1956. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. Each State/UT of India has its unique demography, history and culture, language, dress, festivals, etc. This article will answer all your questions and clear all your doubts related to the states and capitals of India.

List of Union Territories of India

In addition to the 28 states, India also has 8 union territories. Union territories are administered directly by the central government of India. They do not have their own elected governments but are governed by a lieutenant governor appointed by the president of India. There are a total of 8 Union territories of India. Here is the list of Union Territories of India and their capitals:

Union Territory Capital Establishment Date
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 1 November 1956
Chandigarh Chandigarh 1 November 1966
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman 26 January 2020
Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi) New Delhi 9 May 1905
Lakshadweep Kavaratti 1 November 1956
Puducherry Puducherry (Pondicherry) 1 November 1954
Ladakh Leh 31 October 2019
Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 October 2019


How many states are there in India in 2023?

There are total 28 states in India in 2023.

How many union territories are there in India?

There are 8 Union Territories in India.

Which State having common borders with the maximum number of States?

Uttar Pradesh is having common borders with the maximum number of States.

Who is the head of Union Territory?

Lieutenant Governor is the head of the Union Territory.

Which Union territories were merged in January 2020?

Daman and Diu are merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli.

Download your free content now!


List of 28 States of India, Check First Established State_60.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of 28 States of India, Check First Established State_70.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.