Indian Polity Questions for SSC & Railway Exam 2018: 1st June

Dear Readers, GA section is taken on the light note but plays a vital role in achieving the score required to cross the cut off marks.We are providing important Static GK for this, it will help you to score good in GA section if you regularly follow the contents provided on scaffold website and adda247 app regarding general knowledge important questions.We wish you the best wishes for all the upcoming exams.

Q1. The Speaker’s vote in the Lok Sabha is called—
लोकसभा में अध्यक्ष के मत को क्या कहा जाता है?
(a) Casting Vote/निर्णायक मत
(b) Sound Vote/ध्वनि मत
(c) Direct Vote/प्रत्यक्ष मत
(d) Indirect Vote/अप्रत्यक्ष मत

Show Answer
Sol.The Speaker does not vote in the House except on those rare occasions when there is a tie at the end of a decision. Till date, the Speaker of the Lok Sabha has not been called upon to exercise this unique casting vote.

Q2. As per the Constitution of India, how many members are represented by the Union Territories in the Lok Sabha ?
भारत के संविधान के अनुसार, लोकसभा में केंद्र शासित प्रदेशों द्वारा कितने सदस्यों का प्रतिनिधित्व किया जाता है?
(a) 18
(b) 20
(c) 22
(d) 24

Show Answer
Sol.The maximum strength of the House envisaged by the Constitution is now 552 (530 members to represent States, 20 to represent Union Territories, and not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian community to be nominated by the President 

Q3. Union Budget is always presented first in—
केंद्रीय बजट हमेशा पहले _______ में प्रस्तुत किया जाता है.
(a) The Lok Sabha/लोकसभा
(b) The Rajya Sabha/राज्यसभा
(c) Joint Session of the Parliament/संसद का संयुक्त सत्र
(d) The State Assemblies/राज्य विधानसभा

Show Answer
Sol.The Union Budget of India, also referred to as the Annual Financial Statement in the Article 112 of the Constitution of India, is the annual budget of the Republic of India.  

Q4. The Council of Ministers of Indian Union is collectively responsible to the—
भारतीय संघ के मंत्रिपरिषद सामूहिक रूप से किसके प्रति जवाबदेह हैं?
(a) President /राष्ट्रपति
(b) Prime Minister/प्रधान मंत्री
(c) Rajya Sabha/राज्य सभा
(d) Lok Sabha/लोक सभा

Show Answer
Sol.Pursuant to Article 75(3), the Council of Ministers is responsible collectively to the lower house of the Indian parliament, called the Lok Sabha (House of People).

Q5. The allocation of seats in the present Lok Sabha is based on which one of the following Census ?
वर्तमान लोकसभा में सीटों का आवंटन निम्न में से किस जनगणना पर आधारित है?
(a) 1971
(b) 1981
(c) 1991
(d) 2001

Show Answer
Sol.Population is the basis of allocation of seats of the Lok Sabha. As far as possible, every State gets representation in the Lok Sabha in proportion to its population.The 84th Amendment Act has frozen the total number of existing seats in the Lok Sabha on the basis of 1971 Census.

Q6. What is the minimum age laid down for a candidate to seek election to the Lok Sabha ?
किसी उम्मीदवार के लिए लोकसभा चुनाव लड़ने की न्यूनतम आयु क्या है?
(a) 18 years/18 वर्ष
(b) 21 years/21 वर्ष
(c) 25 years/ 25 वर्ष
(d) None of these/इनमें से कोई नहीं

Show Answer


Sol.Article 84 (Part V.—The Union) of Indian Constitution sets qualifications for being a member of Lok Sabha.The minimum age of the candidate should not be less than 25 years of age.

Q7. The state wise allocation of seats in Lok Sabha is based on the 1971 Census. Upto which year does this remain intact ?
लोकसभा में सीटों का राज्यवार आवंटन 1971 की जनगणना पर आधारित है. यह किस वर्ष तक बरकरार रहेगा?
(a) 2011
(b) 2021
(c) 2026
(d) 2031

Show Answer
Sol.The Constitution (Forty Second Amendment) Act 1976 imposed a freeze on the population figure for readjustment at the 1971 census and has been extended by the Constitution (Eighty-fourth Amendment) Act 2001 till 2026. 

Q8. The quorum of Lok Sabha is—
लोकसभा का कोरम है-
(a) 1/5th of the total membership/कुल सदस्यता का 1/5
(b) 1/6th of the total membership/कुल सदस्यता का 1/6
(c) 1/8th of the total membership/कुल सदस्यता का 1/8
(d) 1/10th of the total membership/कुल सदस्यता का 1/10

Show Answer


Sol.Article 100 of the Constitution of India stipulates that at least 10% of total number of members of the House must be present to constitute the quorum to constitute a meeting of either House of Parliament. 

Q9. Who is competent to dissolve the Rajya Sabha ?
राज्यसभा को भंग करने में सक्षम कौन है?
(a) The Chairman, Rajya Sabha/राज्यसभा अध्यक्ष
(b) The President/राष्ट्रपति
(c) The Joint-Session of Parliament/ संसद का संयुक्त सत्र
(d) None/कोई नहीं

Show Answer


Sol.The Rajya Sabha meets in continuous sessions, and unlike the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament, is not subject to dissolution. 

Q10. Rajya Sabha enjoys more power than the Lok Sabha in the case of—
किस मामले में राज्यसभा को लोकसभा से अधिक शक्ति का आनंद प्राप्त होता है?
(a) Money bills/धन विधेयक
(b) None-money bills/ गैर-धन विधेयक
(c) Setting up of new All India Services/ नई अखिल भारतीय सेवाओं की स्थापना
(d) Amendment of the Constitution/ संविधान में संशोधन

Show Answer


Sol.The constitution under Article 312 provides for All India Civil Services branches to be set up by giving the power to the Rajya Sabha (upper house of the Parliament of India) to resolve by a two-thirds majority to establish new all-India services.

Q11. The tenure of the Rajya Sabha is—
राज्यसभा का कार्यकाल है
(a) 2 years/2 वर्ष
(b) 5 years/5 वर्ष
(c) 6 years/6 वर्ष
(d) Permanent/ स्थायी

Show Answer
Sol.Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years.
Q12. The Vice-President is the ex-officio Chairman of the—
उपराष्ट्रपति का __________ कार्यकारी अधिकारी है-
(a) Rajya Sabha/ राज्यसभा
(b) Lok Sabha/ लोकसभा
(c) Planning Commission/ योजना आयोग
(d) National Development Council/ राष्ट्रीय विकास परिषद 
Show Answer
Sol.Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that “there shall be a Vice-President of India.” The Vice-President acts as President in the absence of the President due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations. The Vice-President of India is also ex officio Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha. 
Q13. The President of India can nominate how many members in the Rajya Sabha ?
भारत के राष्ट्रपति राज्यसभा में कितने सदस्यों को नामांकित कर सकते हैं?
(a) 2
(b) 10
(c) 12
(d) 15
Show Answer
Sol.Under article 80 of the Constitution, the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) is composed of not more than 250 members, of whom 12 are nominated by the President of India from amongst persons who have special knowledge or practical experience in respect of such matters as literature, science, art and social service.
Q14. Rajya Sabha can delay the money Bill sent for its consideration by the Lok Sabha for a maximum period of—
राज्यसभा, लोकसभा द्वारा विचार के लिए भेजे गए धन विधेयक को कितनी अधिकतम अवधि के लिए विलंबित कर सकती है-
(a) One year/एक वर्ष
(b) One month/एक माह
(c) Fourteen days/ चौदह दिन
(d) Seven days/ सात दिन
Show Answer
Sol.Money bills can only be introduced in the Lok Sabha, and upon being passed, are sent to the Rajya Sabha, where it can be deliberated on for up to 14 days. 
Q15. Which one of the following states has the lowest number of elected members in the Rajya Sabha ?
निम्नलिखित में से किस राज्य की राज्यसभा में निर्वाचित सदस्यों की संख्या सबसे कम है?
(a) Jharkhand/झारखण्ड
(b) Chhattisgarh/छत्तीसगढ़
(c) Jammu and Kashmir/जम्मू कश्मीर
(d) Himachal Pradesh/हिमाचल प्रदेश
Show Answer


Sol.The Fourth Schedule to the Constitution provides for allocation of seats to the States and Union Territories in Rajya Sabha. The allocation of seats is made on the basis of the population of each State.

You may also like to read: