Questions on Indian Polity for SSC CGL 2017

Hello readers, Here we provide you with an Indian polity Quiz as per the syllabus of SSC CGL TIER-I. Most of the questions are from previous years paper. This Quiz surely help you to fetch more marks in final exams

Q1.Which of the following countries have an Unwritten Constitution?
(a) USA  
(b) UK
(c) India  
(d) Pakistan 

Q2.The basic features of the Indian Constitution which are not amendable under Article 368 are—
(a) Sovereignty, territorial integrity, federal system and Judicial review
(b) Sovereignty, territorial integrity and parliamentary system of government
(c) Judicial review and the federal system
(d) Sovereignty, territorial integrity, federal system, judicial review and parliamentary system of government
Q3.The declaration that Democracy is a Government ‘of the people, by the people, for the people’ was made by :
(a) Abraham Lincon 
(b) George Washington
(c) Theodore Roosevelt 
(d) Winston Churchill
Q4.The most essential feature of the Parliamentary form of Government is the—
(a) sovereignty of the Parliament
(b) written Constitution
(c) accountability of the executive to the legislature
(d) independent judiciary
Q5.In Indian Polity which one is Supreme ?
(a) The Supreme Court 
(b) The Constitution
(c) The Parliament 
(d) Religion
Q6. Which of the following exercised the most profound influence in framing the Indian Constitution?
(a) British Constitution
(b) U.S. Constitution
(c) Irish Constitution
(d) The Government of India Act, 1935
Q7. In which article of the Constitution of India has the Joint Sitting of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha been provided?
(a) Article 101
(b) Article 108
(c) Article 133
(d) Article 102
Q8. Which of the following Committees are Committees of Parliament?
1. Public Accounts Committee
2. Estimates Committee
3. Committee on Public Undertakings

Select the correct answer using the code given below:
(a) 1,2 and 3
(b) 1 and 2 only
(c) 1 and 3 only
(d) 2 and 3 only
Q9. Who is known as the sculptor of the constitution of India’?
(a) Rajendra Prasad
(b) V.V. Giri
(c) B.R. Ambedkar
(d) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
Q10. Who decides whether a bill is a Money Bill or Not ?
(a) President
(a) Chairmen of Rajya Sabha
(a) Speaker of Loksabha
(a) Minister of Parliamentary affairs
Q11. Which writ is issued by a High Court or the Supreme Court to compel an authority to perform a function that it was not performing?
(a) Writ of Certiorari
(b) Writ of Habeas Corpus
(c) Writ of Mandamus
(d) Writ of Quo Warranto
Q12.The minimum/maximum strength of Legislative Assembly of state is:
(a) 50/450
(b) 70/500
(c) 60/500
(d) None of these
Q13.The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly can be removed from office before his normal term by:
(a) the Chief Minister
(b) the Government
(c) the Legislative Assembly by passing a resolution by majority of its total membership
(d) none of the above
Q14.The office of Lokpal and Lokayukta in India is based on which one of the following?
(a) Parliamentary Commissioner of UK
(b) Ombudsman in Scandinavia
(c) Procurator General of Russia
(d) Council of State in France
Q15.What was the exact constitutional status of the Indian Republic on 26 January, 1950 when the constitution was inaugurated ?
(a) A Democratic Republic
(b) A Sovereign Secular Democratic Republic
(c) A Sovereign Democratic Republic
(d) A Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic


Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to