History Quiz for SSC CGL 2016

1. Mangal Pandey fired the first shot of the Revolt of 1857 at—
(a) Barrackpore
(b) Meerut
(c) Kanpur
(d) Jhansi

2. Who, among the following, was NOT associated with the Revolt of 1857 ?
(a) Maharaja Ranjit Singh
(b) Nana Sahib
(c) Begum Hazrat Mahal
(d) Khan Bahadur

3. One of the India’s first freedom fighters against British is—
(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Kittur Rani Chennamma
(c) Rani Laxmi Bai
(d) None of these

4. During India’s freedom struggle, the Sepoy Mutiny started from which one of the following places ?
(a) Agra
(b) Gwalior
(c) Jhansi
(d) Meerut

5. Who is the author of the book ‘The Last Mughal : The fall of a Dynasty, Delhi, 1857’ ?
(a) John Kirkland
(b) William Dalrymple
(c) Thomas Wilson
(d) Simon Digby

6. The revolt of 1857 at Lucknow was led by—
(a) Begum Hazarat Mahal
(b) Tantia Tope
(c) Rani Laxmi Bai
(d) Nana Sahib

7. ‘India war of Independence 1857’ is written by—
(a) S.N. Sen
(b) R.C. Majumdar
(c) V.D. Savarkar
(d) S.B. Chaudhari

8.The birth place of Maharani Laxmi Bai, the heroine of the1857 freedom struggle is—
(a) Agra
(b) Jhansi
(c) Varanasi
(d) Vrindaban

9.The modern historian who called the revolt of 1857 as the ‘first war of independence’ was—
(a) R.C. Majumdar
(b) S.N. Sen
(c) V.D. Savarkar
(d) Ashok Mehta

10. Which was the first National News Agency of India? 
(a) The Indian Review
(b) The Free Press of India
(c) The Associated Press of India
(d) None of the above

11. With reference to the ‘revolt of the year 1857’, who of the following was betrayed by a friend captured and put to death by the British? 
(a) Nana Sahib
(b) Kunwar Singh
(c) Khan Bahadur Khan
(d) Tantiya Tope

12.Who was the Governor General of India during the sepoy Mutiny?
(a) Lord Canning
(b) Lord Dalhousie
(c) Lord Hardings
(d) Lord Lytton

13.The First Governor General and Viceroy of British India was—
(a) Lord Dalhousie
(b) John Lawrence
(c) Warren Hastings
(d) Lord Canning

14.Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer using the codes given below the lists :
List-I                              List-II
(Leaders)                         (Area under their operation)
(a) Maulavi Ahmed Shah             1. Barrackpore
(b) Mangal Pandey                     2. Faizabad
(c) Bakht Khan                            3. Kanpur
(d) Nana Sahib                            4. Delhi
Codes : A B C D
(a) 2 4 1 3
(b) 3 4 1 2
(c) 2 1 4 3
(d) 3 1 4 2

15.When did Queen Victoria declared the taking over of Indian Administration under British Crown ?
(a) 1 November, 1858
(b) 31 December, 1857
(c) 6 January, 1958
(d) 17 November, 1859

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to