History Quiz for SSC CGL 2016


1.The partition of Bengal (1905) was annulled by the—


Indian Councils Act of 1909
Chelmsford-Montague Report, 1919
Proclamation of Delhi Durbar in 1911
Government of India Act, 1935

2.Who of the following founded the East India Association?


C.R. Das
Dadabhai Naoroji
Debendranath Tagore
V.D. Savarkar

3. Consider the following statements: 
1. The Indian National Congress was founded during the viceroyalty of Lord Dufferin. 
2. The first President of Indian National Congress was W.C. Banerji. 
3. The first session of the Indian National Congress was held in Calcutta. 
4. In the first session of the Indian National Congress some government officials were also present. 
 Which of the statements given above are correct ?


1, 2 and 3 only
1, 2 and 4 only
3 and 4 only
1, 2, 3 and 4

4.At which congress session did Dadabhai Naoroji announce that Swaraj was the goal of India’s political efforts?

1886 Calcutta session
1893 Lahore session
1905 Benaras session
1906 Calcutta session

5.With reference to Indian freedom struggle, who among the following was labelled as ‘Moderate’ leader in the Congress?

Gopal Krishna Gokhle
Bipin Chandra Pal
Lala Lajpat Rai
Aurobindo Ghosh

6.Who among the following was thrice elected president of the Indian National Congress?


Dadabhai Naoroji
Surendranath Banerji
Gopal Krishna Gokhle
Shankaran Nair

7.Indian National Congress was founded by—


Womesh Chandra Banerjee
Michal Hume
Allon Octavian Hume
Mahatma Gandhi

8.Who among the following was NOT known as a moderate in the National movement?


Bal Gangadhar Tilak
Dadabhai Naoroji
M.G. Ranade
Gopal Krishna Gokhle

9.Who said, ‘The Congress is tottering to its fall and one of my greatest ambition while in India is to assist it to a peaceful demise’?


George Hamilton
Lord Curzon
Lord Dufferin
Lord Minto

10.Who of the following was the first Muslim President of Indian National Congress ?


Badaruddin Tayabji
Abul Kalam Azad
Rafi Ahmed Kidwai
M.A. Ansari

11.Who is the exponent of the theory of ‘economic drain’ of India during the British rule?


Dadabhai Naoroji
M.N. Roy
Jai Prakash Narayan
Ram Manohar Lohiya

12.The first Indian to contest an election to the British House of Commons was—


Dadabhai Naoroji
Gopal Krishna Gokhle
Pheroz Shah Mehta
W.C. Bannerjee

13.Who wanted Indian National Congress to be a ‘Safety Valve’?


A.O. Hume
Lord Lytton
W.C. Bannerjee
Surendranath Bannerjee

14.Who among the following was NOT a moderate?


Bipin Chandra Pal
Feroz Shah Mehta
Surendranath Bannerjee
Gopal Krishna Gokhle

15.Who among the following, rejected the title of ‘Knight hood’ and refused to accept a position in the council of the Secretary of State for India?


Motilal Nehru
M.G. Ranade
G.K. Gokhle
B.G. Tilak




Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to