History Questions for SSC CHSL

Q1.Who among the following was the author of a Drama “ Nila Darpana” ?
(a) Sharat Chandra
(b) Harishchandra Mukherji
(c) Bankimchandra Chatterji
(d) Dinabandhu Mitra

Q2.Who was the Scholar who deciphered the ancient Brahmi script for the first time?
(a) William Carey 
(b) William Jones
(c) James Princep 
(d) Nathanial Wallich

Q3.To overthrow the British rule, Kuka Movement was organised in
(a) Punjab 
(b) Uttar Pradesh
(c) Bihar 
(d) Maharashtra

Q4.The first newspaper published in India was
(a) The Calcutta Chronicle
(b) The Calcutta Gazette
(c) The Indian Gazette
(d) The Bengal Gazette

Q5.When was the treaty of Alinagar signed?
(a) February 1756 
(b) September 1756
(c) February 1757 
(d) April 1757

Q6.Who among the following had started the Public Works Department in India in 1848?
(a) Lord William Bentinck
(b) Lord Dalhousie
(c) Lord Wellesley
(d) Lord Cornwallis

Q7.Who was the first Muslim president of congress session?
(a)Mohammad Ali Jinnah
(b)Badruddin Taiyab Ji
(c)Shaukat Ali
(d)None of above

Q8.Who founded the independent state of Awadh?
(a) Shujauddaula 
(b) Aasfuddaula
(c) Safdarjung 
(d) Saadat Khan

Q9.Who started the socio-religious organisation “Tattvabodhini Sabha” and its appended journal ‘Tattvabodhini’?
(a) Ram Mohan Roy
(b) Radhakant Dev
(c) Devendranath Tagore
(d) Dwarkanath Tagore

Q10.What did the India Act V of 1843 made illegal?
(a) Child marriage 
(b) Infanticide
(c) Slavery 
(d) Sati

Q11.In which year, Raja Ram Mohan Roy founded the Brahmo Samaj?
(a) 1822 
(b) 1828
(c) 1830 
(d) 1833

Q12.Who was the father of Civil Service?
(a) Lord Minto
(b) Lord Wellesley
(c) Lord William Bentinck
(d) Lord Cornwallis

Q13.Subsidiary alliance was implemented during the reign of..
(a) Lord Cornwallis 
(b) Lord Wellesley
(c) Sir John Shore 
(d) Lord Auckland

Q14.Direct Action Day was observed by Muslim League on..
(a) 15th August 1946 
(b) 16th August 1946
(c) 17th August 1946 
(d) 18th August 1946

Q15.Who is the author of the book entitled ‘A Nation in the Making’?
(a) Raja Ram Mohan Roy
(b) Surendranath Banerjee
(c) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(d) Subhas Chandra Bose

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to