List Of Governors Of India: Check List Of Current Governors Of Indian States & Union Territories

Governor is the head of a state in the same way as the President is the head of the republic. The Governor is the nominal head of a state, whereas the Chief Minister is the executive head. All the executive actions of the state are taken in the name of the Governor. The real powers of the executive dealings of a state rest with the Chief Minister and the Council of Ministers. Apart from the governors in the states, Lieutenant governors are appointed in Union Territories of Delhi, Andaman Nicobar Island and Pudducherry. All the other UTs are governed by the Administrative Head. Chandigarh is the only exception where the governor of Punjab is also the lieutenant governor of Chandigarh.

G-7 Countries: Members, Function and FAQs

List of Current Governors in India

Below is the list of all the Governors of States of India:

State Current Governor Took Over The Post On
Andhra Pradesh Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan July 24, 2019
Arunachal Pradesh Brig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd.) October 3, 2017
Assam Prof. Jagdish Mukhi October 1, 2017
Bihar Shri Phagu Chauhan July 29, 2019
Chhattisgarh Sushri Anusuiya Uikey July 29, 2019
Goa Shri Satya Pal Malik November 3, 2019
Gujarat Shri Acharya Dev Vrat July 22, 2019
Haryana Shri Satyadeo Narayan Arya August 25, 2018
Himachal Pradesh Shri Bandaru Dattatraya September 11, 2019
Jharkhand Shrimati Droupadi Murmu May 18, 2015
Karnataka Shri Vajubhai Vala September 1, 2014
Kerala Shri Arif Mohammed Khan September 6, 2019
Madhya Pradesh Shri Lal Ji Tandon July 29, 2019
Maharashtra Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari September 5, 2019
Manipur Dr. Najma Heptulla August 21, 2016
Meghalaya Shri Tathagata Roy January 27, 2020
Mizoram Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai November 5, 2019
Nagaland Shri R. N. Ravi August 1, 2019
Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal May 29, 2018
Punjab Shri V.P. Singh Badnore August 22, 2016
Rajasthan Shri Kalraj Mishra September 9, 2019
Sikkim Shri Ganga Prasad August 26, 2018
Tamil Nadu Shri Banwarilal Purohit October 6, 2017
Telangana Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan September 8, 2019
Tripura Shri Ramesh Bais July 29, 2019
Uttar Pradesh Smt. Anandiben Patel July 29, 2019
Uttarakhand Smt. Baby Rani Maurya August 26, 2018
West Bengal Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar July 30, 2019

Lieutenant Governors And Administrators for Union Territories

List of all the Lieutenant Governors And Administrators for Union Territories have been given below

Union Territory Lieutenant Governor (LG)/ Administrator Took Over the Post on
Andaman & Nicobar Islands Admiral D.K. Joshi (LG) October 8, 2017
Chandigarh Shri V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator) August 22, 2016
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu Shri Praful Patel (Administrator) January 26, 2020
The Government of NCT of Delhi Shri Anil Baijal (LG) December 31, 2016
Jammu & Kashmir Shri Girish Chandra Murmu (LG) October 31, 2019
Ladakh Shri Radha Krishna Mathur (LG) October 31, 2019
Lakshadweep Shri Dineshwar Sharma (Administrator) November 3, 2019
Puducherry Dr. Kiran Bedi (LG) May 29, 2016

Eligibility Criteria

As per the Constitution of India, the following are the eligibility criteria for the appointment of the Governor in a particular state:

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • Candidate must be above the age of 35 years.
  • The candidate who applied must not hold any other office of profit.
  • He/she must not be a member of the Legislature of the Union or of any other state.
  • There is no bar for the selection of the Governor from amongst the members of the Legislature, provided that on the appointment, the candidate must immediately cease to be a Member of the Legislature.

What is Plasma Therapy: A Possible Treatment For Coronavirus?

Role And Responsibilities

Governor is the constitutional head of the state. Being the nominal head of the State, various responsibilities rest with the Governor and the Lieutenant Governor/Administrator.

  • Legislative, Judicial, Executive and Financial powers are laid down for the Governor of a State
  • Governor holds the right to address, summon, differ and dissolve the State Legislatures
  • In case of unforeseen circumstances, the Governor reserves the right to  make advances from the State Contingency Fund
  • The Chief Justice of a State High Court is elected with the consent of the State Governor
  • If no political party wins in the Lok Sabha election, then the Governor holds the right to elect the Chief Minister for their states
  • In case of constitutional emergency, the President’s rule in a state is acted upon by the Governor
  • He can disqualify any member from elections with the consent of the Election Commission
  • State Legislators must lay the state budget keeping the Governor’s opinion in consideration

What is Land And Sea Breeze?

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who appoints the Governor of a State in India?

Ans. Governor of a State in India is appointed by the President.

Q. Who is the executive head of the State Government?

Ans. The Governor is the executive head of the State Government.

Q. Who was the first woman Chief Minister in independent India?

Ans. Sarojini Naidu was the first woman Chief Minister in independent India.

Q. Who appoints the Chief Minister?

Ans. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister of a state.


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to