GA Notes: “The Vedic Period” For Railway & SSC Exams 2018

Dear Students,

General Awareness is an important section that can help you grab the maximum marks in a competitive exam in the minimum time. You need not perform complex calculation to settle for the correct option so, it’s the best to be prepared with the facts and figures in advance so as to score to the maximum in this section. For Railway Group-D Exam 2018, important awards, current affairs, history, geography, general science, economy and Static GK is occupying the major part. To let you have an information about all important sections of GA, this post is to provide you with one of the important topic related to Indian Polity on Chief Minister of State. Grab the below given important points related to this particular topic and score well in the examination.

The Vedic period

The speakers of Indo-Aryan language, Sanskrit, entered the north-west India from the Indo-Iranian region.

Their initial settlements were in the valleys of the north-west and the plains of the Punjab. Later, they moved into Indo-Gangetic plains.

By 6th century B.C., they occupied the whole of North India, which was referred to as Aryavarta.

This period between 1500 B.C and 600 B.C may be divided into-
-The Early Vedic Period or Rig Vedic Period (1500 B.C -1000 B.C)
-The Later Vedic Period (1000B.C – 600 B.C).

Different scholars have identified different regions as the original home of the Aryans, includes the Arctic region, Germany, Central Asia and southern Russia.

The Vedic literature consists of the four Vedas – Rig, Yajur, Sama and Atharva.

The Rig Veda is the earliest of the four Vedas and it consists of 1028 hymns.

The Yajur Veda consists of various details of rules to be observed at the time of sacrifice

The Sama Veda is set to tune for the purpose of chanting during sacrifice. It is called the book of chants and the origins of Indian music are traced in it.

The Atharva Veda contains details of rituals.

Besides the Vedas,there are other sacred works like the Brahmanas, the Upanishads, the Aranyakas and the epics Ramayana and Mahabharata.

The Brahmanas are the treatises relating to prayer and sacrificial ceremony.

The Upanishads are philosophical texts dealing with topic like the soul, the absolute, the origin of the world and the mysteries of nature.

The Aranyakas are called forest books and they deal with mysticism, rites, rituals and sacrifices.

-The author of Ramayana was Valmiki and that of Mahabharata was Vedavyas.

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to