First in India In Governance

• President of the Indian National Congress of independent India— Acharya
Kripalani, till Nov 1947

• President— Rajendra Prasad (1950–1962)
• First Woman President— Pratibha Patil (2007–2012)
• The first Chief Election Commissioner — Sukumar Sen
• Industries and Supplies Minister— Shyama Prasad Mukherjee
• The first person to resign from the Central Cabinet— Shyama Prasad Mukherjee

• Vice-President— Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
• Prime Minister— Jawaharlal Nehru (1947–1964). India held its first
constitutional elections in 1952 after which he was re-elected.
• Deputy Prime Minister— Vallabhbhai Patel (1947–1950)
• Law Minister of India— B. R. Ambedkar
• Leader of Opposition— A. K. Gopalan

• Prime Minister to be voted out of office— Indira Gandhi (1977), when the
Indian National Congress lost to the Janata Party
• Non-Congress government— Janata Party, with Morarji Desai as the Prime
• Non-Congress State government with Majority by a single party— E. M. S.
Namboodiripad of CPI,
Kerala 1957
• Prime Minister to lead a minority government for a full term (five years)— P.
V. Narasimha Rao,
21 June 1991 – 16 May 1996
• Prime Minister from South India— P. V. Narasimha Rao, 1991, H.D.Deve Gowda
• Women Railway Minister of India— Mamata Banerjee[18]
• The first Viceroy of India— Lord Canning, 1858
• Governor-General of Independent India— Lord Mountbatten, 1947
• Indian Governor-General of Indian Union— C Rajagopalachari, 1948
• Chief Justice of India— H. J. Kania (1947–1951)
• First Sikh Prime Minister— Manmohan Singh (2004–present)
• First Muslim President— Zakir Hussain (1967–1969)
• First Sikh President— Giani Zail Singh
• First Chief Minister of West Bengal— Dr. Prafulla Chandra Ghosh
• Indian ICS Officer— Satyendranath Tagore, 1863
• Speaker of Lok Sabha— G.V. Mavlankar (1952–1956)
• Finance Minister of Independent India— R.K. Shanmukhan Chetty (1947–1949),
for others see First Indian Cabinet
• Presentation of First Budget after India’s Independence— R. K. Shanmukhan
on 26 November 1947
• First Home Minister of India— Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel[19]
• First Indian President to die in Office— Dr Zakir Hussain, 3 May 1969
• First Chief Minister to die in Office— C.N.Annadurai, Tamil Nadu
• First Indian Prime Minister to resign from office— Morarji Desai, 1979
• First Woman Cabinet Minister in India— Rajkumari Amrit Kaur
• First Woman Minister in India— Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
• First Woman Chief Minister— Sucheta Kriplani
• First Female Home Minister— Sabitha Indra Reddy in Andhra Pradesh Govt.
• First Woman Speaker of the Lok Sabha— Meira Kumar
• First Woman Finance Minister of State Government in India— Dr Upinderjit
Kaur, in Punjab Govt

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Join the Conversation


  1. afain i have sir this last cgl will be online then syllabus will be chang r remain sir thanq sir

  2. afain i have sir this last cgl will be online then syllabus will be chang r remain sir thanq sir

  3. Hi ; SSC cgl ki vacancy kitni hai. Mujhe 86 marks hai sc candidate to tier ii ke liye prepare karna chahiye ya nahi. Aur tier ii ki exam date kya hai. Pls help me.

  4. Sir. 86,marks sc candidate . tier ii ke liye prepare karna chahiye ya nahi. Aur exam date kya hai
    . pls help me. Bahut confusion mai hu.thanks

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to