GA Notes: Chronological order of Important GOVERNORS & GOVERNOR-GENERALS For Railway & SSC Exams 2018

Dear Students,

General Awareness is an important section that can help you grab the maximum marks in a competitive exam in the minimum time. You need not perform complex calculation to settle for the correct option so, it’s the best to be prepared with the facts and figures in advance so as to score to the maximum in this section. For Railway Group-D Exam 2018, important awards, current affairs, history, geography, general science, economy and Static GK is occupying the major part. To let you have an information about all important sections of GA, this post is to provide you with one of the important topic related to Indian History. Grab the below given important points related to this particular topic and score well in the examination.


Clive (1757-60, 1765-67)
-First governor of Bengal become after Battle of Plasi (1757).
(Regulating Act of 1773)
Warren Hastings (1774-1785)
-Founded the Asiatic society of Bengal with William Jones in 1784 in Calcutta.
-1st  Anglo – Maratha war (1775 – 80)
-2nd Anglo – Mysore war (1780 – 84)
Lord Cornwallis (1786-1793)
-Introduced of permanent settlement in Bengal called the father of civil services in India.
-Third Anglo – Mysore war (1790 – 92)
Richard Wellesley/Lord Wellesley (1798-1805)
– Established Fort Willian College at Calcutta. For civil servants training in 1800.
-4th Anglo – Mysore war (1799)
-2nd Anglo – Maratha war (1803 – 04)
Marquess Cornwallis (Second time Governor General) (1805)
Marquess of Hastings (Earl of Moira) (1813-1823)
Lord William Bentinck (1828-1833)
(Charter Act of 1833)
Lord William Bentinck (1833-1835)
-Abolished sati system
Lord Dalhousie (1848-1856)
-Merge Punjab in 1852, 2nd Anglo – Sikh war (1848 – 49)
-2nd Anglo – Burmese war in 1852
-Woods dispatch (1854) (Education related)
-Telegraph & Postal reforms. (Post office act – 1854)
Lord Canning (1856-1858)
– Establishment of three universities at Calcutta, madras & Bombay in 1857.
-Revolt 1857.
(Act of 1858)
Lord Canning (1858-1862)
-The last Governor General and the first Viceroy.

Lord Lawrence (1864 − 1869)
-Telegraphic communication was opened with Europe. 
-High Courts were established at Calcutta, Bombay and Madras in 1865. 
-Expanded canal works and railways. 
-Created the Indian Forest department. 
Lord Mayo (1869 − 1872) 
-Started the process of financial decentralization in India.
-For the first time in Indian history, a census was held in 1871.
-Was the only Viceroy to be murdered in office by a Pathan convict in the Andamans in 1872.
Lord Lytton (1876 − 1880) 
-Organised the Grand ‘Delhi Durbar’ in 1877
-Decorate Queen Victoria with the title of ‘Kaiser-I-Hind’ 
-Arms Act (1878) made it mandatory for Indians to acquire license for arms. 
-Passed the infamous Vernacular Press Act (1878). 
Lord Ripon (1880 − 1884) 
-Passed the local self-government Act (1882)
-Passed the libert Bill (1883) which enabled Indian district magistrates to try European criminals. But this was withdrawn later. 
Lord Dufferin (1884 − 1888) 
-Indian National Congress was formed during his tenure. 
Lord Elgin II (1894 − 1899) 
-Great famine of 1896 − 1897. 
-Lyall Commission was appointed. 
Lord Curzon (1899-1904)
-Passed the Indian Universities Act (1904)
-Partitioned Bengal (October 16, 1905) into two provinces 1, Bengal (proper), 2. East Bengal & Assam.
Lord Minto (1905 − 1910) 
-The Indian Council Act of 1909 or the Morley-Minto Reforms was passed. 
Lord Hardinge (1910 − 1916) 
-Held a durbar in dec, 1911 to celebrate the coronation of King George V. 
-Capital shifted from Calcutta to Delhi (1911).
Lord Chelmsford (1916 − 1921) 
-August Declaration of 1917
– The government of India Act in 1919 (Montague-Chelmsford reforms) was passed. 
Lord Irwin (1926-1931)
-Simon Commission visited India in 1928.
-Dandi March (Mar 12, 1930)/Civil Disobedience Movement (1930)
-First Round Table Conference held in England in 1930.
-Gandhi-Irwin Pact (Mar 5, 1931)
Lord Willington (1931 − 1936) 
-Second Round Table conference in London in 1931.
-Communal Awards (Aug 16, 1932) assigned seats to different religious communities.
-Third Round Table conference in 1932. 
-Poona Pact was signed. 
-Government of India Act (1935) was passed. 
Lord Linlithgow (1936 − 1944)
-Cripps Mission in 1942. 
-Quit India Movement (August 8, 1942).
Lord Wavell (1944 − 1947) 
-Shimla Conference on June 25, 1945
-Cabinet Mission Plan (May 16, 1946).
Mountbatten (24 March 1947 – 15 August 1947)
-Introduced Indian independence bill in house of common
Mountbatten (1947-1948)

Rajagopalachari (1948-1950)

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to