Latest SSC jobs   »   List of Current Chief Ministers in...

List of Current Chief Ministers in India: List, Election and Eligibility Criteria

The Chief Ministers of a state is appointed by the Governor says Article 164 of the Indian constitution. In no way, the Governor is free to appoint any person as the CM of India for a particular state. According to the constitution of India, the Governor of the state level is the legal head but the Chief Minister of Indian states is the (de facto executive) the real executive. Aspirants who are preparing for the govt. recruitment exams for them, knowing about the CM of India is important to ace the general awareness section. Direct and factual questions about Chief Ministers of Indian states, their office tenure and the political party they belong to are often asked in general awareness sections.

List of Chief Ministers

 CM of Himachal Pradesh Virbhadra Singh is the oldest Chief Minister in India while Arunachal Pradesh’s Pema Khandu is the youngest Chief Minister. Check the list of CMs of India below.

No State and Union Territory Chief Minister Took in Office Party
1 Andhra Pradesh Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy 30/05/2019 YSR Congress Party
2 Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu 17/07/2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Assam Sarbananda Sonowal 24/05/2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Bihar Nitish Kumar 22/02/2015 Janata Dal (United)
5 Chhattisgarh Bhupesh Baghel 17/12/2018 Indian National Congress
6 Delhi (NCT) Arvind Kejriwal 14/02/2015 Aam Aadmi Party
7 Goa Pramod Sawant 19/03/2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
8 Gujarat Vijaybhai R. Rupani 07/08/2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
9 Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar 26/10/2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
10 Himachal Pradesh Jai Ram Thakur 27/12/2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
11 Jammu and Kashmir Governor’s Rule 31/10/2019
12 Jharkhand Hemant Soren Dumka 29/12/2019 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
13 Karnataka B. S. Yediyurappa 26/07/2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
14 Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan 25/05/2016 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
15 Madhya Pradesh Kamal Nath 17/12/2018 Indian National Congress
16 Maharashtra Uddhav Thackeray 28/11/2019 Shiv Sena
17 Manipur Nongthombam Biren Singh 15/03/2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
18 Meghalaya Conrad Sangma 06/03/2018 National People’s Party
19 Mizoram Zoramthanga 15/12/2018 Mizoram National Front
20 Nagaland Neiphiu Rio 08/03/2018 Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
21 Odisha Naveen Patnaik 05/03/2000 Biju Janata Dal
22 Punjab Captain Amarinder Singh 16/03/2017 Indian National Congress
23 Rajasthan Shri Ashok Gehlot 17/12/2018 Indian National Congress
24 Sikkim Shri Prem Singh Tamang 27/05/2019 Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
25 Tamil Nadu Shri Edappadi K Palaniswami 16/02/2017 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
26 Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao 02/06/2014 Telangana Rashtra Samithi
27 Tripura Shri Biplab Kumar Deb 09/03/2018 Bharatiya Janata Party
28 Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath 19/03/2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
29 Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat 18/03/2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
30 West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee 20/05/2011 All India Trinamool Congress

Who Is a Chief Minister?

The Chief Minister is the link between the Cabinet and the Governor. Chief Minister communicates to the Governor all decisions of the Council of Ministers. Chief Minister has to furnish information related to the administration of the State as the Governor may call for. The Governor can submit to the consideration of the Council of Ministers any matter on which decision has been taken by a Minister but which has not been considered by the Council of Ministers.

Current lieutenant governors and administrators of Union Territories

  1. Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands: Devendra Kumar Joshi (8 October 2017)
  2. The administrator of Chandigarh: V. P. Singh Badnore (22 August 2016)
  3. The administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu: Praful Khoda Patel  (30 December 2016)
  4. Lieutenant Governor of Delhi: Anil Baijal (31 December 2016)
  5. The administrator of Lakshadweep: Farooq Khan (6 September 2016)
  6. Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry:  Kiran Bedi (29 May 2016)
  7. Lieutenant Governors of Ladakh: Radha Krishna Mathur
  8. Lieutenant Governors of Jammu and Kashmir: Girish Chandra Murmu

Prime Minister Salary In India

Eligibility Criteria

Given below is the eligibility criteria for a person who wants to contest election for the state assembly as laid in constitution:

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • The candidate should be a member of the state legislature. If a candidate is elected chief minister who is not a member of the legislature, then he/she must take sign from governor.
  • He/She must be 25 years of age or more while contesting the elections.

Election of Chief Minister

Elections are conducted to the State Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) in a state, then the state’s governor usually invites the party (or coalition) which has the majority of seats to form the government. The governor then appoints and swears in the chief minister, whose council of Ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. The chief minister is normally appointed for a maximum of five years. There are no such limits to the number of terms that the chief minister can serve.

Quit India Movement Day 2020; All You Need To Know

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who is the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh? 

Ans. Yogi Adityanath of the Bharatiya Janata Party is the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh

Q. Who is the only female Chief Minister in India?

Ans. Mamata Banerjee in the West Bengal is the only Female Chief Minister in India

Q. Who holds the record for longest-serving Chief Minister

Ans. Sikkim’s Pawan Kumar Chamling is the longest-serving Chief Minister (1994-2019)

Q. What is the minimum age to be eligible to contest for the Chief Minister election

Ans. Candidate must be 25 years of age or more while contesting the elections.

Download your free content now!


List of Current Chief Ministers in India: List, Election and Eligibility Criteria_60.1

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

List of Current Chief Ministers in India: List, Election and Eligibility Criteria_70.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

General Awareness & Science Capsule PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *