The British Rule(IV) | GA Study Notes : SSC CGL Tier-1 2017

The British Rule

Lord Ripon (1880 – 1884)
  • He passed the first factory Act, 1881, under this the child Labour was prohibited in India. 
  • He passed the Ilbert Bill, 1883, under this the Indian judges got the power to sentence the Europe Criminals but later on this Bill was withdrawn by the Britishers.
  • He appointed the education commission, known as “Hunter commission” in 1882 in order to improve the secondary level education in India. 
  • He passed the local self-government Act in 1882 under this the Panchayati Raj system started in India. That is why he is known as the “father of the Panchayati Raj” or father of Local self Government.

Lord Dufferin (1884-1888)
  • Formation of Indian National Congress (INC) in the year 1885 at Gokul Das Tejpal Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya, Bombay by Mr. A. O. Hume with total 72 members. 
Important Sessions of INC

S.No. Year Place President Remarks (If any)
1. 1885 Bombay Mr. Womesh Chandra Bannerjee (W.C. Bannerjee) First President of INC
2. 1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji Also known as “Grand Old Man of India” the gave the famous theory of “Drain of wealth”
3. 1887 Madras Badruddin Taiyabji First Muslim President of INC
4. 1888 Allahabad Sir George Yule First British President
5. 1905 Benaras Gopal Krishna Gokhle Swadeshi Movement
6. 1906 Kolkata Dadabhai Swaraj (Self-governance)
7. 1907 Surat Raas Bihari Bose Split of Congress
8. 1916 Lucknow A. C. Majumdar Reunion of Congress
9. 1917 Calcutta Annie Besant First Women President of INC
10. 1923 Delhi Maulana Abul kalam Azad Youngest President of INC
11. 1924 Belgaum Gandhi Ji
12. 1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu First Indian Women President
13. 1928 Calcutta Motilal Nehru Formation of All India Youth Congress
14. 1929 Lahore Jawahar Lal Nehru Declaration of Purna Swaraj
15. 1937 Faizpur (Maharashtra) Jawahar Lal Nehru First Session in village
16. 1938 Haripura (Gujarat) Subhash Chandra Bose
17. 1946 Meerut Acharya J. B. Kriplani
18. 1948 Jaipur P. Sitara Mayya

Lord Lansdowne(1888-1894)
  • He passed the second factory Act 1891, under this:-(i) There was a weekly holiday for the workers (Sunday Holiday). (ii) Fixed time period of working. (iii) He appointed the high-level Durand commission in 1893 to draw the political boundary between India & Afghanistan.(Now between Pakistan & Afghanistan). 
  • In the year 1892, he divided the civil services examination into 3 parts:-(a) Imperial services → IAS (b)Provincial services → State PCS (c)Subordinate Services → Tehsildar 
  • In 1893 → Swami Vivekanand deliver speech at Chicago on Zero. 
  • Gandhiji was thrown out of the train, in South Africa at the famous St. Pietermaritzburg Railway station.


More than 2400+ Candidates were selected in SSC CGL 2016 from Career Power Classroom Programs.

9 out of every 10 candidates selected in SSC CGL last year opted for Adda247 Online Test Series.

No comments