Latest SSC jobs   »   History (Evening) Quiz for SSC CGL...

History (Evening) Quiz for SSC CGL 2016

History (Evening) Quiz for SSC CGL 2016_40.1

1.Which one of the following Viceroys of India utilised for the first time local self-government as the basis of election?
(a) Lord Bentick
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Lord Ripon
(d) Lord Lansdowne
Ans (c)

2.Which one of the following is not correctly matched?
(a)Anand Math — Bankim Chandra Chatterjee
(b)India Wins Freedom — Surendra Nath Bannerjee
(c)Poverty and Un-British Rule in India — Dadabhai Naoroji
(d)Unhappy India — Lala Lajpat Rai
Ans (b)

3.The Constitution of India was adopted by the constituent Assembly on—
(a) Aug. 15, 1947
(b) Jan. 30, 1948
(c) Nov. 26, 1949
(d) Jan. 26, 1950
Ans (c)

4. Teachers’ Day is celebrated on the Birth day of—
(a) Jawahar Lal Nehru  
(b) S. Radha Krishnan
(c) Rajendra Prasad
(d) Indira Gandhi
Ans (b)

5. The National Calender, which is based on Saka Era, was introduced in the year—
(a) 1957
(b) 1951
(c) 1949
(d) 1947
Ans (a)

6. Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer:
List-I (Persons)                 List-II (Books)
A. Chaudhary Khaliquzzaman          1. India Wins Freedom
B. Jawahar Lal Nehru                 2. Pathway to Pakistan 
C. Abul Kalam Azad                 3. India Divided
D. Rajendra Prasad                 4. Discovery of India
Codes :  A B C D
(a) 4 2 1 3
(b) 3 1 4 2
(c) 1 3 4 2
(d) 2 4 1 3
Ans (d)

7. With reference to Indian Freedom struggle which one among the following events occurred earliest?
(a) Gandhi-Irwin Pact
(b) Lucknow Pact
(c) Cripps Mission Proposals
(d) August Offer
Ans (b)

8. Who among the following drafted the resolution on Fundamental Rights and Economic Programme for the Karachi Session of Congress in 1931?
(a) B. R. Ambedkar
(b) Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru
(c) Rajendra Prasad
(d) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel  
Ans (b)

9. Which one of the following aroused a wave of popular indignation that led to the massacre by the British at Jallianwala Bagh?
(a) The Arms Act
(b) The Public Safety Act
(c) The Rowlett Act
(d) The Vernacular Press Act
Ans (c)

10. The Congress ministries resigned in the seven provinces in 1939, because
(a) the Congress could not form ministries in the other four provinces
(b) emergence of a ‘left wing’ in the Congress made the working of the    ministries impossible
(c) there were widespread communal disturbances in their provinces
(d) None of the statements ‘a’, ‘b’ and ‘c’ given above is correct
Ans (d)