Previous Year Indian Polity Questions For SSC CGL Exam 2017

Dear SSC CGL Aspirants, The CGL Tier-1 Exam will start from 1st August 2017. For GA section you need to practice and memorize all the important points of Polity, History, Geography, Science and current affairs. For polity, we are providing previous years questions which will give you clear idea about the question types and topics. Approx. 5 to 6 questions are asked from Polity in SSC CGL. Solve this quiz and be better prepared for the SSC CGL Tier-1 2017.

Q1.Who was the first Foreign Minister of free India?
(a) Jawahar Lal Nehru
(b) Gulzari Lal Nanda
(c) Lal Bahadur Shastri
(d) John Mathai

Q2.Cheif minister is appointed by
(a) State governor
(b) Chief justice of Supreme Court
(c) Speaker of Lok Sabha
(d) President of India

Q3.The Council of Ministers has to resign if no-confidence motion is passed by a majority of members of
(a) Lok Sabha
(b) Rajya Sabha
(c) Both the Houses separately
(d) Both the Houses in joint sitting

Q4.Who coined the term ‘Hindu rate of growth’ for Indian economy?
(a) A.K. Sen
(b) Kirit S. Parich
(c) Raj Krishna
(d) Montek Singh Ahluwalia

Q5. The disputes regarding the election of the President and Vice-President of India are decided by the-
(a) Parliament
(b) Election Commission
(c) Supreme Court
(d) High Court

Q6. Who is the custodian of Indian Constitution?
(a) President
(b) Parliament
(c) Council Court
(d) Supreme Court

Q7. The system of Judicial Review exists in
(a) India only
(b) U.K. only
(c) U.S.A. only
(d) India and U.S.A.

Q8. Under which article of Indian Constitution, President of India enjoys powers to withhold his assent on any Bill?
(a) Article 63
(b) Article 108
(c) Article 109
(d) Article 111

Q9.Rajya Sabha enjoys more power than the Lok Sabha in the case of
(a) Money bills
(b) Non-money bills
(c) Setting up of new All India Services
(d) Amendment of the Constitution

Q10.The bill of which of the following categories can be initiated only in Lok Sabha?
(a) Ordinary Bill
(b) Private members Bill
(c) Money Bill
(d) Constitution Amendment Bill

Q11.First chief justice of india
(a)Patanjali sastri
(d)Chand Mahajan

Q12.Supreme Court judges retire upon attaining the age of..

Q13.Constitution of India was adopted by constituent assembly on ?
(a)25 October, 1948
(b)25 October, 1949
(c)26 November, 1948
(d)26 November, 1949

Q14. The Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the
(a) President
(b) Prime Minister
(c) Lok Sabha
(d) Rajya Sabha

Q15.Who was the first lok sabha speaker?
(b)Meera kumar
(c)Rajeendra prasad


More than 2400+ Candidates were selected in SSC CGL 2016 from Career Power Classroom Programs.

9 out of every 10 candidates selected in SSC CGL last year opted for Adda247 Online Test Series.